The Licensing Division oversees the issuance, renewal, and regulation of insurance licenses for both resident and non-resident individuals and business entities in the State of Nebraska
First Time License Process for Nebraska Residents
1. Applicants need to register and pass the insurance examination for the appropriate line of authority. Visit PSI Exams to register for your insurance exam.
2. After passing your exam, information is uploaded by PSI directly to the Department of Insurance. Please allow 2-3 days for the exam information to be uploaded to our system.
3. Applicants must then go to NIPR and apply for the insurance license. You must apply and be issued a Nebraska insurance license in order to sell, solicit, or negotiate insurance in the State of Nebraska.
4. Once the application is submitted, please allow 3-5 days for processing. You can go to NIPR to download or print a copy of your new license.
Licensing Applications, Renewals & Forms
Producer License Applications
Any instructions needed to complete the licensing forms are included with each form.
Change Request Forms:
Public Adjuster Information
Licensed Public Adjusters in Nebraska - 2_15_2024
The requirements for an individual resident public adjuster license are as follows:
- Is at least 18 years old
- Has a principal place of residence or a principal place of business in Nebraska
- Has not committed any act that is grounds for denial pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 44-9211
- Has paid the $50 application fee
- Has passed the public adjuster licensing examination
- Is trustworthy, reliable, and of good reputation
- Has proof of financial responsibility - $20,000 Surety Bond
- Maintains an office in this state with public access by reasonable appointment or regular business hours
- Has completed the uniform public adjuster license application
Individuals applying for a non-resident public adjuster license shall be licensed as a public adjuster in their home state and shall pay the $50 application fee.
Applicants can apply electronically at https://nipr.com or by downloading an application and mailing it to the Department with your application fee.
Each individual public adjuster's license will expire on the last day of their birth month in the first year after issuance, in which his or her age is divisible by two. Resident public adjusters will be required to complete 24 hours of continuing education, which includes 3 hours of ethics.
Each business entity's public adjuster's license will expire on April 30 of each year.
Licenses may be renewed within the 90-day period immediately preceding the expiration date.
Nebraska Public Adjusters Licensing Act, Neb. Rev. Stat. § 44-9201 through 44-9219
Business Entity License
Public adjusters who are associated with an agency or business entity must also obtain a public adjuster agency license in the State of Nebraska (Neb. Rev. Stat. § 44-9207.)