First Time License – Residents
- Applicant registers and passes the written insurance examination for the appropriate lines of authority. Visit www.prometric.com to register for your insurance exam.
- Exam information is uploaded by Prometric to the Department of Insurance. Please allow 2-3 days for the exam information to be uploaded to our system.
- Applicant applies for a Nebraska insurance license. You must apply and be issued a Nebraska insurance license in order to sell, solicit, or negotiate insurance in the state of Nebraska. You can start the application process online at www.nipr.com and pay the license fee with a credit card, or you can submit a paper application by mail with a check for the appropriate license fee made payable to the Nebraska Department of Insurance.
License Information Bulletin – Information regarding fees, scheduling policies, scoring and what to expect when going to the test centers.”
Prepare for the exam
You may use the material of your choosing to study for the license exam. Many different providers offer exam prep courses and because of the number and array of methods the department does not review, approve or recommend providers.
Nebraska statutes are referenced on the topic outline additionally and are available to review online or at any public library.
Exam Content Outlines
Each type of license consists of an outline broken down into each topic and the percentage of questions covered for each topic. The outlines can be viewed at:
Testing Centers Regulations, Testing Process and Sample Score Report can be reviewed in the Prometic Licensing Information Handbook
Take a Prometric Practice Exam at no cost!
Practice exams contain general insurance questions that are created in the same format as the actual exam. They do not contain state specific information.
Practice exams are available for Life, Health and Property/Casualty in English only at this time.
Continuing Education Information
Nebraska adopted the National Producer Number (NPN) as the Nebraska License Number in July 2012 Look up your License number here
Please allow Continuing Education Providers 10 days after each course is completed to upload the credit electronically onto your Education Transcript. View or print your Education Transcript
Unable to renew online
*If your license is expiring and your continuing education has not yet been banked in our system please mail in your renewal form and $50 renewal fee, as you cannot renew online until you are CE compliant and your payment must be postmarked on or before your expiration date to avoid a late renewal fee
Repeating a course
A producer may not repeat a continuing education course for credit within a 2 year renewal period.
Continuing Education credits
Continuing Education credits may not be carried over to the next renewal period, if you have taken more than required.
You may not receive credit for a course that was approved for a line in which you do not hold a license. Example: Health only licensees will not receive credit for taking a course approved for Life Insurance.
Adding a Line of Authority to an existing license
After passing the appropriate state exam, you may add a line of authority to your license. You may submit the request electronically via www.nipr.com (please allow 24-48 hrs for processing) or print a 9110 form and send to us directly at firstname.lastname@example.org (please allow 7-10 days for processing).
Continuing Education credits needed for license renewal
Licensees qualified to solicit one or more major lines of authority shall be required to complete the following approved continuing education activities plus 3 hours of ethics
|Life||21 + 3 ethics = 24 hours|
|Health||21 + 3 ethics = 24 hours|
|Combined Life and Health||21 + 3 ethics = 24 hours|
|Property||21 + 3 ethics = 24 hours|
|Casualty||21 + 3 ethics = 24 hours|
|Combined Property and Casualty||21 + 3 ethics = 24 hours|
|Personal Lines||21 + 3 ethics = 24 hours|
|Title||6 + 3 ethics = 9 hours|
|Crop||3 + 3 ethics = 6 hours|
|Funeral||6 + 3 ethics = 9 hours|
|Funeral - Director||3 + 3 ethics = 6 hours|
|Viatical||12 + 3 ethics = 15 hours|
*No licensee shall be required to complete more than 24 cumulative hours in any two-year period.
Continuing Education Course Look Up
Approved programs (Seminars/Workshops/Webinars) sponsored by various organizations that are open to all agents and held in the Nebraska area. Included within this listing are the Independent Study, National courses (such as CLU, CPCU, LUTC, etc.), College and University Courses and a comprehensive company listing.
Please note- Providers are no longer required to submit offering dates/locations to our department. When searching for “classroom” courses select course categories and method only. You will then need to contact the provider directly or view their website for local offerings.
Annuity Suitability “Best Interest” Training Requirements
Any insurance producer who holds a life insurance line or a limited line funeral insurance license, who desires to solicit the sale of annuity products shall complete, a one-time four-credit annuity training course approved by the Nebraska Department of Insurance and provided by a Nebraska-approved continuing education provider.
Any producer who has completed an approved annuity training course prior to July 1, 2021, shall complete either a new four-credit annuity training course or an additional one-time, one-credit training course approved by the Nebraska Department of Insurance and provided by a Nebraska-approved continuing education provider on appropriate sales practices and replacement and disclosure requirements under the Nebraska Protection in Annuity Transactions Act. The new four-credit annuity training course or additional one-time, one credit training course shall be completed by December 31,2021.
To search for approved annuity courses in Nebraska please go to Continuing Education Course Lookup and select “Annuity” as the Course Group
Long-Term Care Partnership Training Requirements
Health licensees who wish to sell, solicit or negotiate Long-Term Care Insurance are required to complete a one-time 8 hour training course followed by an ongoing 4 hour refresher course during each 24 month period thereafter. CB-114 for further details. View Bulletin More on Long-Term Care Partnership
Flood Training Requirements
Nebraska Property/Casualty resident licensees must complete a one-time 3 hour course relating to the National Flood Insurance Program in order to sell, solicit or negotiate Flood Insurance. CB-112 for further details.