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DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 
 

STATE OF NEBRASKA 
 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR STATE OF NEBRASKA ANNUAL TAX RETURN 
FOR YEAR ENDING DECEMBER 31, 2015 

 
NEW FILING REQUIREMENTS 

 
OPTins ONLINE PREMIUM TAX FOR INSURANCE  

 
OPTins is the preferred method for filing premium taxes; however, it is not mandatory at this 
time.  Instructions can be found at optins.org.  If you are not filing electronically through 
OPTins, the Department will continue to accept filing and payment at the mailing addresses 
below for the 2015 year. 
 
Overnight Mail:  Use Street Address 
Nebraska Department of Insurance 
941 O Street, Suite 400 
Lincoln, NE  68508 
 
Postal Service Address: 
Nebraska Department of Insurance 
P. O. Box 82089 
Lincoln, NE  68501-2089 
 
Domestic companies will be required to continue filing their annual statement with the 
department in paper form.  Foreign companies will only be required to file the annual statement 
electronically with the NAIC.  In addition to the above, the following items will be required to be 
filed in paper form for both domestic and foreign companies: 
 

A. Property & Casualty companies must file one copy of the Nebraska Exhibit of 
Premiums & Losses (state page) and one copy of Schedule T 
 

B. Life & Health companies must file one copy of the Nebraska Direct Business Page (state 
page) and one copy of Schedule T 

 
All insurance companies licensed in the State of Nebraska during the tax year, must file an 
annual tax return with the Department.  Insurers licensed during the tax year must file a tax 
return even though the insurer may not have actually transacted insurance business within the 
State of Nebraska during the tax period.  Insurers whose annual tax is four thousand dollars or 
more are required to file quarterly tax returns. 
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DUE DATE OF FILING TAX RETURN 
 
The tax return and payment must be received by the Department of Insurance on or before 
March 1 following the end of the calendar year.  The due dates for filing the quarterly tax return 
and payment are April 15, June 15 and September 15 of each year.  When the due date falls on 
a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the statement, tax return and payment are considered 
timely if received on the next business day. 
 

EXTENSIONS 
 
No authority exists for granting any extension of time for filing the annual tax return or payment.  
A ten day extension of time to file the quarterly tax return and payment may be granted if the 
facts in your case indicate an extension is necessary.  A request for an extension of time for filing 
the quarterly tax return and payment must be made in writing to the Department of Insurance. 
 

INTEREST ASSESSMENTS AND PENALTIES 
 
Insurers who fail to pay any premium or retaliatory tax when due shall pay interest at the rate of 
3 percent as prescribed by Neb.Rev.Stat. § 45-104.02.  Any insurer who fails to make payments 
within the prescribed time period or fails to obtain an extension shall also be subject to the 
penalties prescribed in Neb.Rev.Stat. § 77-911, as amended. 

 
COMPLETING THE TAX RETURN 

 
“Gross Direct Premiums” are net of return premiums and includes all premiums, membership 
fees, assessments, dues and other payments of similar description, whether collected in cash or 
notes, and all other premiums credited to premium income, such as premiums in the course of 
collection and premiums charged to agent accounts.  Do not include premiums received on 
reinsurance assumed and do not deduct premiums paid on reinsurance ceded. 
 
The taxable premiums shall include premiums paid on the lives of persons residing in this state 
and premiums paid for risks located in this state whether the insurance was written in this state or 
not, including that portion of a group premium which represents the premium for insurance on 
Nebraska residents or risks located in Nebraska included within the group when the number of 
lives in the group exceeds five hundred. 
 
Dividends paid or credited to policyholders - Do not deduct dividends applied to purchase paid-
up additions or to shorten the endowment or premium paying period, annual pure endowment 
payments, or coupon benefits. 
 
Round the amounts on your tax return schedules to the nearest dollar.  Drop any amount less than 
50 cents and increase any amount that is 50 cents or more. 
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TAX DEDUCTIONS 

 
A. Guaranty Fund Assessments:  Must attach a copy of each contribution certificate.  

Assessments are deductible at the rate of 20 percent per year beginning with the 
calendar year following the year in which the assessment is paid:   (See Neb.Rev.Stat.  
§§ 44-2407(1)(d) and 44-2716, as amended).  Copies of the certificates of 
contribution must be attached to support the deductions. 
 

 Premium tax offsets are available only to the extent of the tax liability for the calendar 
year end and do not constitute “Refunds” or “Credits” to be carried forward to 
subsequent calendar years. 
 

B. Community Development Assistance Act contribution.  Attach a copy of Form 1099 
NTC (See Neb.Rev.Stat. § 77-2734.03, as amended). 
 

C. Notice of Qualified Equity Investment of the New Markets Job Growth Investment Tax 
Credit:  Must attach a copy of FORM 3800N. (See Neb.Rev.Stat. §§ 77-1101 to 77-
1119). 

 
D. 

 
Notice of Nebraska Job Creation/Historic Tax Credit as set forth in the Nebraska Job 
Creation and Mainstreet Revitalization Act: Must attach a copy of FORM 3800N.    
(See Neb.Rev.Stat. §§ 77-2901 to 77-2912). 

 
PAYMENTS 

 
Make the check for taxes, licenses and fees payable to the Nebraska Department of Insurance.  
Separate checks must be submitted for each company within a group.  Your NAIC number must 
appear on your check pursuant to CB-51 (amended).  The Department will no longer mail the 
packet containing the premium tax and other miscellaneous forms unless specifically requested.  
The forms and the filing checklist can be downloaded from the Department website at 
www.doi.nebraska.gov.  Should you have any questions please contact the Department by 
telephone at (402) 471-2201. 
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Guaranty Fund Assessments Applicable 
For the 2015 Tax Year 

 
Property and Casualty Assessments        Tax Year 
 
 
03/01/10 

 
 
Legion Insurance Company (Third Work Comp Assessment) 

 
 
2011-2015 

 
03/01/10 

 
Reliance Insurance Company (Work Comp Assessment) 

 
2011-2015 

 
11/02/10 

 
Class “A” Administrative Assessment 

 
2011-2015 

 
03/01/10 

 
Fremont Indemnity Insurance Company (Work Comp 
Assessment) 

 
2011-2015 

 
03/01/11 

 
HIH America Compensation and Liability Insurance Company 

 
2012-2016 

 
03/01/11 

 
Villanova Insurance Company (Work Comp Assessment) 

 
2012-2016 

 
03/01/11 

 
Casualty Reciprocal Exchange (Work Comp Assessment) 

 
2012-2016 

 
11/01/11 

 
Class “A” Administrative Assessment 

 
2012-2016 

 
11/01/12 

 
Class “A” Administrative Assessment 

 
2013-2017 

 
 
Life and Health Assessments 
 
 
08/25/14 

 
Benicorp Insurance Company 

 
2015-2019 

 
08/25/14 

 
Medical Savings Insurance Company 

 
2015-2019 

 
08/25/14 

 
Executive Life of New York Company 

 
2015-2019 

 
 

ASSESSMENT APPLIED WHEN PAID 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
p&cinstructions 


	DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
	FOR YEAR ENDING DECEMBER 31, 2015
	NEW FILING REQUIREMENTS
	DUE DATE OF FILING TAX RETURN
	EXTENSIONS
	INTEREST ASSESSMENTS AND PENALTIES
	COMPLETING THE TAX RETURN
	TAX DEDUCTIONS
	PAYMENTS

