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FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 
For Producer/Agency Licensing 

 
 
 
 
Producer Licensing 
 

1. How do I obtain a resident producer license?    

First you must complete an approved pre-licensing course from the Prelicensing 
Requirements and Prelicensing Approved Provider List.  Choose a provider for pre-licensing 
study material.  When pre-licensing is completed, visit www.prometric.com/ for information 
on taking the state exam.  After you have passed the state exam, you may apply online at 
www.nipr.com or download a Resident Producer License application from our website.  The 
fee is $60.00. 
 
2. How do I obtain a non-resident producer license? 
 

You may apply online at www.nipr.com or by downloading a Non-Resident Producer License 
application from our website.  The fee is $60.00.   
 
3. I just moved to NE from another state, what is the process to change my resident state 
to Nebraska? 
 

First, please change the status of your previous resident license.  After you have notification 
that the change has been completed, download a Resident Producer License application 
from our website.  The fee is $60.00.  While we do not require a letter of certification, it is a 
good idea to obtain this from your previous resident state, if available. 
 
4. How do I update my home or business address and contact information? 
 

Changes to street addresses, phone numbers, or email addresses may be requested online 
through the National Insurance Producer Registry at www.nipr.com or by downloading a 
Change Request Form from our website.    
 
5. How do I print my license? 
 

Licenses may be printed online at www.statebasedsystems.com.  We no longer mail 
licenses.   
 
6. How do I request a change on the following? 
 

 Name 
 Date of Birth 
 Social Security Number 
 Line of Authority 
   

Download a Change Request form from our website. 
 
 

http://www.doi.nebraska.gov/license/ce/prelic.pdf
http://www.doi.nebraska.gov/license/ce/prelic.pdf
http://www.prometric.com/
http://www.nipr.com/
http://www.nipr.com/documents/indapp.pdf
http://www.nipr.com/documents/indapp.pdf
http://www.doi.ne.gov/license/apps/DOI9110.pdf
http://www.statebasedsystems.com/
http://www.doi.ne.gov/license/apps/DOI9110.pdf
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7. When does my individual producer’s license renew? 
All producer licenses shall expire on the last day of the month of the producer's birthday in 
the first year after issuance in which his or her age is divisible by two. Such producer 
licenses may be renewed within the ninety-day period before their expiration dates. 
See Example 
 
All business entity licenses issued under the Insurance Producers Licensing Act shall expire 
on April 30 of each year. 
 
8. How do I renew my resident Nebraska producer license? 
 

You may renew your license online at www.nipr.com or mail in the renewal notice along 
with the renewal fee of $60.00. Please list your current home and business addresses so we 
have the correct information on our system.  Only one renewal notice is mailed and you will 
not be able to renew online until you have met your continuing education requirements. 
 
9. How do I renew my non-resident Nebraska producer license? 
 

You may renew your license online at www.nipr.com or mail in the renewal notice along 
with a fee of $60.00.  Please list your current home and business addresses so we have the 
correct information on our system.  Only one renewal notice is mailed.   
 
10. How do I reinstate my resident Nebraska producer license? 
 

You may reinstate online at www.nipr.com or by downloading a Resident Producer License 
application from our website.  When reinstating online, you must choose the option to 
apply for a new license. 
 
11. How do I reinstate my non-resident Nebraska producer license? 
 

You may apply online at www.nipr.com or by downloading a Non-Resident Producer License 
application from our website.  When reinstating online, you must choose the option to 
apply for a new license. 
 
12. How do I view the status of my producer license in Nebraska? 
 

You may view the status of your license at www.statebasedsystems.com. 
 
13. Does the State of Nebraska license insurance adjusters? 

 

There is no statutory provision for the licensing of company or independent insurance 
adjusters in the state of Nebraska.  Public adjusters must obtain a license as an insurance 
consultant.  An application and instructions are found on our website. 
 
14. Will your state issue clearance letters?  Does your state require clearance letters to 
issue a resident producer license? 
 

Nebraska will issue clearance letters upon request.  Nebraska does not require the receipt 
of a clearance letter to issue a resident producer license.  However, it may be necessary if 
your national producer information is not updated appropriately. 
 
 

http://www.doi.nebraska.gov/license/FAQLic.pdf
http://www.doi.nebraska.gov/license/FAQLic.pdf
http://www.nipr.com/
http://www.nipr.com/
http://www.nipr.com/
http://www.nipr.com/
http://www.statebasedsystems.com/
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15. Can a person whom is not a U.S. citizen obtain a producer license? 
 

Yes, and must provide proof of work authorization at the time of the initial application and 
each renewal. 
 
16. How do I process an appointment or termination of appointment?  

 

Appointments and appointment terminations must be processed online through the 
National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) at www.nipr.com. 

 
 
 
Agency Licensing 

 
1. How do I obtain a resident Nebraska insurance agency license? 
 

You may apply online at www.nipr.com or by downloading a Non-Resident Producer License 
application from our website.  The fee is $50.00. 
 
2. How do I obtain a non-resident Nebraska insurance agency license? 

 

You may apply online at www.nipr.com or by downloading a Non-Resident Producer License 
application from our website.  The fee is $50.00. 
 
3. How do I renew my resident insurance agency license? 
 

You may renew your license online at www.nipr.com or mail in the renewal notice along 
with the fee of $50.00. 
 
4. How do I renew my non-resident insurance agency license? 

 

You may renew your license online at www.nipr.com or mail in the renewal notice along 
with the fee of $50.00. 
 
5. How do I reinstate my resident insurance agency license? 
 

You may reinstate your agency license online at www.nipr.com or mail in the renewal 
notice along with the fee of $100.00. 
 
6. How do I reinstate my non-resident insurance agency license? 
 

You may reinstate your agency license online at www.nipr.com or mail in the renewal 
notice along with the fee of $100.00. 
 
7. How do I update my agency or business address? 
 

A written request to update an agency address may be emailed to 
doi.licensing@nebraska.gov or faxed to (402) 471-6559.   
 
8. How do I change the designated producer on our agency license? 
 

Download Agency License Amendment Form 9002A from our website. 
 
9. How do I view the status of my insurance agency license in Nebraska? 
 

You may view the status of your license at Licensee Look-Up. 

http://www.nipr.com/
http://www.nipr.com/
http://www.nipr.com/
http://www.nipr.com/
http://www.nipr.com/
http://www.nipr.com/
http://www.nipr.com/
mailto:doi.licensing@nebraska.gov
http://www.doi.nebraska.gov/license/apps/9002A.pdf
https://sbs-ne.naic.org/Lion-Web/jsp/sbsreports/AgentLookup.jsp
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