
Medical Malpractice Frequently Asked Questions 
 
 
 
 
 

1.   What are the required underlying limits of liability? 
For physicians, corporations, and nurse anesthetists: $500,000/$1,000,000. For Hospitals 
and Surgical Centers:  $500,000/$3,000,000. 

 
2.   What is the amount of coverage the Fund provides? 

The Fund provides a malpractice cap of $2,250,000. 
 

3.   Who can qualify? 
See Nebraska Revised Statute, 44‐2803. 

 
4. What do I need to send in to be enrolled/qualified in the Fund? 

We require a certificate of insurance from an admitted carrier that shows who is insured, 
coverage dates, limits of liability, and the premium amount for the applicable limits of liability 
(either $500,000/$1,000,000 or $500,000/$3,000,000. 

 
5.   What if I have two carriers? Can I be Funded through two policies? 

In order for coverage to be qualifiable, the underlying carrier must provide coverage on a 
24/7 basis. Once you are qualified under a policy; you are qualified. 

 
6. Is there a grace period? 

There is a 30 day grace period. 
 

7. How long is the turnaround? 
Qualification letters are usually sent one to two days after payment/proof is received. 

 
8.   Can I pay over the phone or online? 

Not at this time. 
 

9. Who do I make my check out to? 
Please make check out to: Nebraska Excess Liability Fund 

 
10.  What if I am unable to obtain coverage through an admitted carrier? 

Please complete the Residual Fund Application, and submit for a quote. This coverage 
would be considered admitted and you would then be able to be eligible for Fund coverage. 

http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=44-2803
http://www.doi.ne.gov/medmal/residual1.pdf

