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REQUIREMENTS AND PROCEDURE FOR OBTAINING A 
VIATICAL SETTLEMENT BROKERS LICENSE 

PRODUCERS WHO CURRENTLY HOLD A LIFE LICENSE 
 
 
 
QUALIFICATIONS 
 

1. Applicant shall be at least 18 years of age. 
 

2. Applicant shall hold an active life insurance line of authority. 
 

Nonresident Applicants –  If applying for a non-resident Viatical Settlement Brokers license in 
Nebraska then the applicant’s life insurance line of authority in their resident state must be 
active for at least one (1) year prior to the application. 
 
 
PROCEDURE 
 

Submit the “Declaration to Nebraska Department of Insurance for Viatical Settlement Broker 
Form” (Form VS-DEC) to the Licensing Division at the address listed below. Also, include a check 
in payment of the license fee.  Refer to the Schedule of Fees listed below.  
 
 
EXAMINATION PROCEDURE 
 

No Examination is required if you are currently life licensed. 
 

 
LICENSE FEES 
 

Initial License Fee ……………………………………………………….…… $40.00 
Renewal Fee …………………………………………………………………... $40.00 
 

(Please make checks payable to the Nebraska Department of Insurance) 
 

PRINTING LICENSES 
 

The Nebraska Department of Insurance Licensing Division no longer mails out a hard copy of 
new or renewed licenses. A copy of your license can be downloaded or printed by going to: 
www.statebasedsystems.com/LicensePrint.htm. 
 
 
LICENSE RENEWAL 
 

Initial individual licenses are issued to expire the last day of the month in the licensee’s birth 
month in which his/her age is divisible by two. 
 

Therefore, individuals born in even numbered years renew their license on their birthday in the 
even numbered years and individuals born in odd numbered years renew their license on their 
birthday in the odd numbered years. 

http://www.statebasedsystems.com/LicensePrint.htm
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CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS (2 YEARS) 
APPLIES TO RESIDENT LICENSEES ONLY 
 

A resident life producer is required to complete twenty-four hours of continuing education 
activities; Three (3) of the 24 hours must be in the area of insurance related ethics. 
 

Detailed information regarding the two-year continuing education requirements are available 
from the Department upon request. 
 
 
CHANGE OF ADDRESS 
 

Any person licensed under the Viatical Settlements Act shall notify the Department within thirty 
(30) days of any change of residential or business address.  Form DOI-9110 must be submitted 
to report a change of address. 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Reasonable accommodations for disabled persons available 
upon request at (402) 471-2201.  TDD users 800-833-7352 for relay to (402) 471-2201 

 
NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

P.O. BOX 82089 
LINCOLN, NE  68501-2089 

Licensing Division: (402) 471-4913 
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STATE OF NEBRASKA 

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 
PO Box 82089 

Lincoln, NE 68501 
www.doi.nebraska.gov 

 

 
DECLARATION TO NEBRASKA  
DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

FOR VIATICAL SETTLEMENT BROKER 
( For Producers Who Currently Hold An Active Life License ) 

 
 

 
Producer Name __________________________________________________________ 
 
Social Security Number      ___  ___  ___   -   ___  ___   -   ___  ___  ___  ___ 
 
Date of Birth __________________ Producer License Number ____________________ 
 
Business Address _________________________________________________________ 
 
Home Address ___________________________________________________________ 
 
Business Phone _______________________   Home Phone _______________________ 
 
Email Address ___________________________________________________________ 
 
 
I ___________________________________ intend to act as a Viatical settlement broker 
in Nebraska.  I have read and understood Neb.Rev. Stat. §44-1101 et seq. and I will operate 
in accordance therewith.  I understand that a viatical settlement broker is deemed to represent 
only the viator’s interests and shall owe a fiduciary duty to the viator to act according to the 
viator’s instructions and in the viator’s best interests.   
 
I hereby certify under penalty of perjury that the above information is true and correct to the best 
of my knowledge and belief. 
 
 
_____________________________________  ________________________________ 
Signature of Producer     Date 
 
 
__________________________________ 
Typed or Printed Name    
 
 

NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 
LICENSING DIVISION 

P.O. BOX 82089 
LINCOLN, NE  68501-2089 

Licensing Division: (402) 471-4913 
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