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REQUIREMENTS AND PROCEDURE FOR OBTAINING AN 
UTILIZATION REVIEW AGENT’S CERTIFICATE 

RESIDENT AND NONRESIDENT 
 
 

A utilization review agent may not conduct utilization review upon a covered person in this state unless 
the agent is granted a certificate by the director. Certificates granted under the Utilization Review Act 
shall be valid for two years from the date of issuance.  
 
PROCEDURE 
 

1) Submit Form DOI URA - Application for Certification to Transact Business as a 
Utilization Review Agent. 

2) Also include the following documentation with the application: 
a) Documentation that the applicant has received approval or accreditation by the American 

Accreditation HealthCare Commission/URAC, or a similar organization which has standards for 
utilization review agents that are substantially similar to the standards of the American 
Accreditation HealthCare Commission/URAC, and which has been approved by the director; 

b) A list of the principal officers of the entity responsible for its operation, management, and 
control (page two of paper application). 

3) Submit application fee. 
 
LICENSE FEES – UTILIZATION REVIEW AGENT 
 

Initial Fee…………………………………………………………………………. $300.00 
Two-Year Renewal Fee ………………………………………………..….. $100.00 
Reinstatement Fee ………………………………………………..………… $300.00 
 

*Checks should be made out to the Nebraska Department of Insurance. 
 
 

PRINTING LICENSES 
 

The Nebraska Department of Insurance Licensing Division no longer mails out a hard copy of new or 
renewed licenses. A copy of your license can be downloaded or printed by going to: 
https://sbs.naic.org/solar-external-lookup/license-manager. 
 
 
DURATION OF LICENSE 

 

Utilization review certificates are valid for two (2) years from the date they are issued.  Certificates 
expire one day prior to the two year anniversary of the issue date. 
 

 
LICENSE RENEWAL 
 

Certificates may be renewed ninety (90) days prior to their expiration date by submitting the following 
to the Nebraska Department of Insurance: 

1) Renewal fee of one hundred dollars ($100). 
2) A statement detailing any changes in the information or documentation that was filed with the 

initial application. 

https://sbs.naic.org/solar-external-lookup/license-manager
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NOTIFICATION OF CHANGES 
 

A utilization review agent shall notify the director within five working days of any change of the agent's 
approval or accreditation status or of any material change in the information contained in the agent's 
application or renewal or that the agent no longer meets the requirements of the 
Utilization Review Act. 
 
  
For further information regarding the rules and requirements for obtaining the Utilization Review 
Agent’s Certificate please see Neb.Rev.Stat 44-5416. 
 
 
 

Reasonable accommodations for disabled persons available 
upon request at (402) 471-2201.  TDD users 800-833-7352 for relay to (402) 471-2201 

 
 

NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 
INSURANCE LICENSING DIVISION 

P.O. BOX 82089 
LINCOLN, NE  68501-2089 

 
E-mail: DOI.Licensing@Nebraska.gov 

Licensing Division: (402) 471-4913 
DOI Main Line: (402) 471-2201 

Toll Free: (833) 410-5609 
Fax: (402) 471-6559 

 

https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=44-5416
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STATE OF NEBRASKA 
DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

PO Box 82089 
Lincoln, NE 68501 
www.doi.nebraska.gov 

MOTOR CLUB REPRESENTATIVE 

TYPE OF ENTITY 
Please check one:     Corporation    Partnership     Other ____________________________ 

(Please Specify) 

Business Entity Name: ______________________________________________________________________ 

Federal I.D. # _________________________________     Date Incorporated _________________________  

Business Address: __________________________________________________________________________ 
Street Address 

___________________________     ______     _____________     ____________________________________ 
City                                                                       State       Zip Code   Phone  

Mailing Address: __________________________________________________________________________ 
Street Address 

___________________________     ______     _____________     ____________________________________ 
City                                                                       State       Zip Code         Business Email  

Which classes or types of insurance will the applicant be conducting in Nebraska? 
__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
(Please Specify) 

Please submit with the application, proof that you have received approval or accreditation by the Utilization 
Review Accreditation Commission, Inc. or NCQA. Please also include a $300.00 check for the license 
application fee.  

Application and fees can be submitted to the Department at the address information below: 

NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 
INSURANCE LICENSING DIVISION 

P.O. BOX 82089 
LINCOLN, NE  68501-2089 

E-mail: DOI.Licensing@Nebraska.gov
Licensing Division: (402) 471-4913

DOI Main Line: (402) 471-2201 
Toll Free: (833) 410-5609 

Fax: (402) 471-4610 

APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATE TO TRANSACT BUSINESS 
AS A UTILIZATION REVIEW AGENT

For DOI Use Only 

Identifier # ______________ 

Amount ________________ 

 Dist # _________________ 

Check # ________________ 
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Business Entity Name: ____________________________________________________________ 

List below the principal officers responsible for the operations, management and control of 
the applicant name herein: 

Officer 1 
Name: Title: 
Business Address: 
Resident Address: 
Social Security Number: 

Officer 2 
Name: Title: 
Business Address: 
Resident Address: 
Social Security Number: 

Officer 3 
Name: Title: 
Business Address: 
Resident Address: 
Social Security Number: 

Officer 4 
Name: Title: 
Business Address: 
Resident Address: 
Social Security Number: 

This application must be signed by all named principle officers listed above. 

Officer 1: ________________________________________________     ____________________ 
Signature Date 

Officer 2: ________________________________________________     ____________________ 
Signature Date 

Officer 3: ________________________________________________     ____________________ 
Signature Date 

Officer 4: ________________________________________________     ____________________ 
Signature Date 

Subscribed to in my presence and duly sworn this __________ day of ____________________, 
20______. 

________________________________________ 
Notary Public 
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