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CAUTION! 
Persons who give away or transfer assets in 

order to get Medicaid help may end up 
waiting longer before Medicaid will help. 

ASSESSMENT OF RESOURCES 
 

The Department of Health and Human 

Services will complete an assessment form to 

find out the total value of the couple’s 

combined finances during the month of 

admission to the nursing home. 

 

This assessment will help decide the amount 

of assets the spouse at home may keep. One 

must be able to show proof of assets owned. 

 

The spouse at home should contact  

AccessNebraska at 855-632-7633 to fill out 

the assessment form.  

RESOURCE LIMITS 
 

Most assets (such as bank accounts, stocks, 
bonds, etc.) are considered as joint assets 
between a husband and wife under the 
Spousal Impoverishment Protection Law. It 
does not matter in whose name they are 
placed. 
 
The spouse at home is entitled to keep at 
least half of all countable assets, within the 
following guidelines: 
 

MINIMUM:  at least $25,728 in 2020 

MAXIMUM:  up to $128,640 in 2020 
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Q:   If my spouse was not able to live at home anymore, would we 

have to spend all of our resources to pay for long-term care? 
 

A:  No, the Spousal Impoverishment Protection Law provides income protection.  

 

Under the Spousal Impoverishment Protection Law, the spouse who remains at home retains 

his/her personal income. This includes Social Security, pensions, interests, dividends, etc. 
 

The spouse in the nursing home will be required to use his/her income to pay for his/her care, 

except for a personal allowance of $50 per month ($90 per month for veterans). 
 

After the income has been split, if the spouse at home gets less than $2,113.75 every month, 

he/she may keep part of the nursing home spouse’s income, giving the spouse at home at least 

a monthly income of $2,113.75. 
 

If the spouse at home has to pay high rent, mortgage or utilities, he/she may be able to keep 

more of the nursing home spouse’s income. 

 

INCOME GUIDELINES 

 

Medicaid is a government insurance program that helps people with limited incomes and 

resources. To qualify for Medicaid help for long-term care, the assets of  an individual must be 

at $4,000 or less. Medicaid is administered by the Nebraska Department of Health and 

Human Services.  

BETTY AND FRED 
 

Betty is unable to take care of Fred at home 
anymore, and he is admitted to a local 
nursing home. Due to the Spousal 
Impoverishment Protection Act, Betty would 
not have to spend all their money before the 
state would help pay for Fred’s care. 
 
Betty will keep all of her income. If her 
income is less than $2,113.75 each month, 
she could keep part of Fred’s income. 
 
Checks made out in Fred’s name would be 
considered his and would go to the nursing 
home to pay for his care, unless a portion is 
needed for Betty. Fred may have $50 from 
his income each month as his allowance for 
personal needs. Fred will also continue to 
pay his Medicare supplement insurance 
premium with his income. 

 

This federal law protects spouses of nursing home residents from losing 
all of their income and assets to pay for the nursing home spouse’s care.  

A couple’s assets and income will be divided according to the  
Spousal Impoverishment Protection Law. 

 

SPOUSAL IMPOVERISHMENT PROTECTION LAW (1989) 

 

MEDICAID For additional information on spousal 

impoverishment law, contact 

AccessNebraska at 855-632-7633   or 

online at accessnebraska.ne.gov 

This information is provided for your 

guidance only.   


