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Nebraska Filing Requirements for

Worker's Compensation “Large” Deductibles

Except as specifically noted, these approval standards and other requirements apply

only to so-called “large” deductibles, NOT too small medical deductibles. (Nebraska

workers’ compensation law requires that small medical deductibles - $500, $1,000,
$1,500, $2,000, and $2,500 - be offered to any insured that requests them.)

(M

(2)

(3)

(4)

Insurers are not obligated to offer “large” deductibles or to offer them in all

amounts that these rules might allow.

In no event shall a deductible of less than $50,000 be offered or written under the

“large” deductible law.

The insurer must handle the defense and settlement of all claims as if no
deductible applies. All costs borne by the employer must be in the form of
premium payments and loss or ALAE reimbursements to the insurer. The
employer must not pay anything to an entity other than the insurer or TPA acting
on behalf of the insurer through a contract in fulfillment of workers’
compensation obligations. The insurer is the ultimate responsible party. If an
independent adjusting service handles claims, any billings from this service must

be to the insurer, not the employer.

Any provisions referring to the ability of the insurer to “advance” money to the
employer are unacceptable, as the insurer must pay all losses, loss-adjustment
expenses, and taxes or assessments directly. Provisions that appear to give the
employer the right to control, approve or disapprove payments or settlements are

not allowable.

Coverage written under these forms is to be considered workers’ compensation

coverage for annual statement reporting, workers’ compensation, and insurance
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(6)

(7)

(8)

laws, and, using premium after deductible credits, as a basis of assigned risk

assessments or assignments1

The deductible amount that the employer must reimburse may be any one of the

following:
(@)  Benefits only;
(b)  The sum of benefits an actual ALAE; or

(c)  Benefits only, but the employer is liable to reimburse actual ALAE in

addition to the deductible applying to the benefits

(d)  Anyreasonable pro-ration of ALAE between the insurer and the employer

is acceptable
Employers’ liability coverage may be included with any of the above.

The law is not specific on whether deductibles must be per-person or per
accident. The “normal” form of deductible (per accident for accident injury and
per person for disease) is acceptable. Other proposals will be considered on their

merits.

Deductibles shall only be made available where the “basis premium” exceeds
$125,000. “Basis premium” is defined to be the sum of projected payrolls (for all
states where coverage applies) times rates that will be in effect at policy
inception, with all-expense discounts and modifiers applying except for

deductible credits or ECP modifications.?

To arrive at premium thresholds, it is acceptable to combine payrolls for

employers under common ownership, provided that all such related employers

1 As of writing, no such assessments or assignments apply, but it is always possible that this may change in the

future.

2 Virtually all policyholders with a “basis premium” that exceeds $125,000 will qualify for treatment as an exempt
commercial policyholder (ECP) under Chapter 73. For ECPs, insurers may apply credits or debits to workers’
compensation insurance in addition to their filed rates, but such additional ECP credits or debits shall not be used
in the determination of the maximum allowable deductible.
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9)

(10)

(11)

(12)

(13)

(14)

are written under the same policy and subject to the same deductible for
Nebraska losses. It is NOT mandatory, however, to policies and it is not
necessary to combine their payrolls to meet minimum size requirements to apply

any deductible provided.

A policy shall not be written with a deductible to exceed 40% of the “basis
premium.” If, however, the final audited payrolls show that the deductible
exceeded 40% of what the premium would have been on a non-deductible basis,
this does not imply that the deductible which was in effect must be changed

retroactively. The provisions of the policy will continue to apply.

Rate credits for deductibles are allowed to be determined on a judgment basis.
While a filing of manual pages needs to be made that will assure that policies are
written in accordance with Nebraska law, the manual pages do not need to

include a schedule of deductible credits. Individual risk filings are not necessary.

Even though guide rating is allowed, as described above, policy rating must
preserve and use usual payroll and classification information and require the use
of audited payrolls after policy expiration. In other words, a “flat charge” rating
that does not rely upon standard workers’ compensation rating classifications

and audited payrolls are not allowable.

Deductibles must apply to all losses (or all losses + ALAE) on a medical +
indemnity basis, regardless of any characteristics of the claim. (For instance,
claims arising from aircraft accidents are not to be subject to a different

deductible amount than claims arising from other accidental injuries.)

Insurers may offer an endorsement to limit the aggregate amount to be
reimbursed by the employer under the deductible provision due to claims arising
during the policy period. This coverage must be included in the same policy as

the rest of the workers’ compensation coverage.

If an aggregate stop-loss is provided by the policy and the employer’s retention

limit is a flat amount, or if flat minimum retention is used in a “greater of” fashion
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(15)

(16)

in conjunction with a retention limit that is a function of audited payrolls and
premiums, then this flat annual amount must not be less than the “basis
premium.” This requirement notwithstanding, the policy must provide for
proration of any flat aggregate retention limits in the event of cancellation by the
insurer. Exception: the policy may state that proration of the aggregate retention
limit will not occur in the event of cancellation due to nonpayment or other
serious breaches of contract. These “serious breaches” would need to be

detailed in the cancellation provisions.

If the employer’'s aggregate retention limit is a function of audited premiums or
payrolls, without a flat minimum being used, then the applicable coverage
formula must not be designed to yield a smaller annual retention than the “basis
premium.” In this case, however, if it occurs that audited payrolls would produce
a pre-deductible premium that is less than the “basis premium,” then it is not
unacceptable if the calculated retention turns out to be less than the minimum

target otherwise specified in this paragraph.

The manual rules must state that coverage is to be provided only when the
financial impact of the retention amount (that is, the effect of the deductible,

subject to any aggregate provided on the policy) will remain uninsured.

We have seen proposed provisions that would allow the insurer to cancel the
large deductible endorsement, but otherwise keep the policy in force, causing the
policy to revert to a “guaranteed cost” contract. Such an amendment to the policy
is unacceptable on a retroactive basis and can be made on a going-forward basis
only with agreement from the employer. This statement notwithstanding,
provisions like retro provisions dealing with employer insolvency may be included
in the policy and can be extended to nonpayment situations. Such provisions
could allow an insurer to value all claims on an incurred basis for the purpose of

making a claim against the employer’s LOC or receiver.
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(17)  Without modification to address annuity-type settlements, an insurer can find
itself in the situation where it needs to bill an employer monthly or quarterly for
20, 30, or more years, until an annuitant dies, remarries, or the payments finally
sum to the deductible amount. If an insurer wishes to simply ignore this rare
situation — fine, we will approve that. If, however, an insurer wishes to address
this situation, then there are quite a few complications. The discussion shown on
the next several pages, up to the bold-face reference to REQUIREMENT, can be
ignored if you choose not to specifically address annuity-type settlements. But

we recommend that you look at it.

Settlement (by commutation) of reimbursements due the insurer

Lump-sum settlements

“Large” deductible workers’ compensation contemplates reimbursement to the insurer
after payment has been made on behalf of the employer. An advantage to this
arrangement, as opposed to retrospective rating, is that the employer doesn’t need to
agree with loss reserves that the insurer has established. A shortcoming, however, is
that certain annuity-type losses may require the insurer to bill the insured on a monthly

or quarterly basis for an extended period.

When annuity-type claims occur under a retrospectively rated contract, it is common for
the employer and insurer to eventually agree that a given retrospective premium
calculation is to be considered final. In this fashion, while the insurer must still send out
regular checks to the claimant, the necessity of annual billings to the employer (to settle
reserve changes) is eliminated. In addition, the settlement with the employer can fairly

reflect the time value of money.

The situation is more complicated in the case of employers written under “large
deductible” policies, but a parallel agreement would be acceptable. An employer and
insurer could agree to a final settlement based on the sum of the present values of

expected future payments after such expected payments have first been limited by the
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deductible amount. This is to be distinguished from applying the deductible limit to the

sum of the present values of future claim payments.

An example can serve to illustrate the last two sentences in the prior paragraph.
Suppose that an insurer is obligated to pay $10,000 annually for the life of a window.
The present value of these expected payments is $120,000 and the deductible is
$100,000. Under these circumstances, if the insurer seeks to reach a final settlement
with the employer without undertaking a lump-sum settlement of the actual claim, then
a fair reimbursement settlement should be for less than $100,000. Basically, it would be
the present value of 10 annual payments of $10,000, which will be less than $100,000

because of interest and mortality.

None of the above applies when an insurer settles an annuity-type claim with the

claimant on a lump sum basis. In this case, unless the insurer has special provisions in

the contract (and, to date, we've never seen any proposed one), the insured would be
liable for the amount of the settlement up to the deductible provision, without reduction

for either the time value of money or for the other contingencies.

Clearly, it is the case that an insurer can leave itself open to accusations of bad faith if
it attempts to settle a claim with ordinary annuity-type benefits on a lump-sum basis.
The insurer may stand to benefit to the detriment or potential detriment of the
powerless policyholder. And, in both cases, the policyholder is likely to be quite

unappreciative.

What we believe would be fairest, and what we would wish to encourage, would be a

provision something like the following, using the usual “we/you” language:

e If, absent the “lump-sum” settlement, the claim would involve defined periodic
payments, and

e If the sum of these periodic payments, is not discounted for the time value of
money, mortality, remarriage, and other contingencies, potentially could have

exceeded the deductible amount, then
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The amount which you must reimburse us for this “lump-sum” settlement shall be

determined in the following manner:

e First, paid losses, unpaid losses which are certain, and potential unpaid losses
which sum to an amount equal to the deductible shall be identified, then

e The unpaid amounts so identified shall be reduced actuarially to recognize the
time value of money and, to the extent applicable, mortality, remarriage, and
other contingencies; and then

e The unpaid amounts, so reduced, shall be summed

Actuarial and other presumptions for these calculations shall be the same as those

used by us to determine the actual amount paid to settle the claim.
Comment 1: We aren’t proud of this wording; we hope that somebody else can do better

Comment 2: A similar formula could also be used to address the “reimbursement
settlement” questions raised earlier, except that “reimbursement settlements” can be

negotiated in advance, which makes this unnecessary.

REQUIREMENT: Manual pages and forms which are in conflict with the approval
standards described on the preceding pages must be changed to obtain approval. This
may be done on a “Nebraska Exception” basis. In addition, insurers must acknowledge

that they have been notified of the statistical considerations outlined below:

(1) The insurer must provide complete statistical reporting of all incurred claims
(“unit data”) to the NCCI so that the NCClI's experience rating and classification
ratemaking can be done without degradation. This means that reserves must be
established for individual claims that are not immediately settled, even though
the insurer may anticipate that the claim will ultimately settle for less than the
deductible amount.

(2) The insurer must be able to provide aggregate financial data to the NCCI for
deductible policies on a gross basis; that is as if no deductibles applied. This will

be a special NCCI call for Nebraska
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(3) Nothing in deductible arrangements may alter reports received by the Nebraska
Workers’ Compensation Court.

(4) Premium taxes: All amounts collected by insurers (which must be exactly the

same as the amounts spent by employers) pursuant to deductible insurance
contracts are to be considered as premium except:

a. Loss amounts reimbursed by employers to insurers, and

b. ALAE reimbursed by employers to insurers

(5) Workers’ Compensation Trust Fund3Assessments: These assessments,

whenever they are collected, will be 2% of losses (not losses + ALAE) paid during

the calendar year, including losses reimbursable under deductible plans. (This

includes “large” deductible plans as well as the NCCI-filed medical-only “small”

deductible plan.)

Insurers must be able and will be required to report losses paid on behalf of
employers pursuant to deductible forms as a supplement to premium tax forms
submitted to the Department of Insurance. Tax forms promulgated by the
Department require the reporting of losses paid that would have been reported as

part of the annual statement on page 15 if no WC deductible provisions are applied.

Rating Recoupment for Workers’ Compensation Trust Fund and RML

Charges Addendum to Approval Standard

In the filings received since we promulgated filing standards for large deductibles, our
requests for rating examples uncovered certain types of rating errors for virtually all
insurers. Specifically, these errors involved improper recognition of assessments. We
noted that policy forms that proposed recoupment of actual assessments and residual

market loads all involved overcharges.

3 This fund combined the formerly separate Vocational Rehabilitation and Second Injury Funds. While statutory
provisions applying to second injury claims no longer apply, old claims are still being run off.
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As such, we disapprove of any forms that would recoup actual assessments. This
addendum is intended to explain why we decided to disapprove of such forms. The
mechanics of doing this properly would be cumbersome, and not a single proposal to
date has shown correct rating and billing procedures to accomplish this feat. Rather
than working at great lengths with insurers to design procedures that we expect would
be misapplied anyway, we believe it is better to disapprove forms that propose actual
recoupment. We believe that the simpler alternative, which is for insurers to reflect

these costs in their premium charges, is also the better alternative.
Specifically, we have seen the following problems:

(1) Difficulties arise when the insurer wishes to recoup actual loss-based
assessments. While this is fair in principle, it becomes very complicated to apply
correctly. The actual means of collecting the Workers’ Compensation Trust Fund
is an assessment of paid losses on an erratic basis. To collect this assessment
properly from deductible insureds would require:

a. The insurer must wait until after the end of each year — which would be
after they have otherwise billed for most of the losses,

b. The insurer must then determine whether a loss—based assessment is
being made,

c. The insurer must then apply the 2% tax rate to all paid losses during the
prior year and,

d. Then, long after the policyholder has reimbursed the insurer for the losses,

the insurer must bill for the 2% tax applying

For deductible insureds, it would be best to add an additional amount to the tax
load for an average amount of loss-based assessments and not charge for
actual assessments. In addition to being reasonably fair, this procedure is
simpler from a billing and statistical reporting standpoint. Proposals to pass
“actual” assessments back to the insured will be disapproved for the reasons just

mentioned.
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(2) Some insurers have also proposed to pass the costs for actual RML's back to the
insured. This would also be very cumbersome for billing purposes — worse than
assessments for second injury and vocational rehabilitation. Given this difficulty,

plus the fact that Nebraska’s RML'’s have been very low*

4 As of this writing, the voluntary market has no responsibility for shortfalls that may occur in Nebraska’s assigned
risk business, but it is possible that this could change in the future.



