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FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 
For Producer/Agency Licensing 

 
 
 
Producer Licensing 
 

1. How do I obtain a resident producer license?    

An exam is required for all major lines of authority and some limited lines. Please 
visit www.prometric.com for information on which exams are offered, exam content, 
and taking the state exam.  After you have passed the state exam, you may apply 
online at www.nipr.com or download a Resident Producer License application from 
our website.  The fee is $50.00. 
 

2. How do I obtain a non-resident producer license? 
 

You may apply online at www.nipr.com or by downloading a Non-Resident Producer 
License application from our website.  The fee is $50.00.   
 

3. I just moved to NE from another state, what is the process to change my 
resident state to Nebraska? 

 

You should first change the status of your previous resident license.  After you have 
notification that the change has been completed, download a Resident Producer 
License application from our website.  The fee is $50.00. State change requests 
must be submitted within ninety (90) days of their occurrence. 
 

4. I moved from Nebraska to a new home state, what is the process to change 
my Nebraska license to a non-resident? 

You should first contact your new home state to obtain your new resident insurance 
license. Then, download the Non-Resident Producer License application from our 
website. Once we receive the complete form and the $50.00 fee, we will update your 
Nebraska license to a non-resident.   
 

5. When does my individual producer’s license renew? 
All producer licenses shall expire on the last day of the producer's birth month in the 
first year after issuance in which his or her age is divisible by two. Such producer 
licenses may be renewed within the ninety-day period before their expiration dates. 
See Example 
 
All business entity licenses issued under the Insurance Producers Licensing Act 
shall expire on April 30 of each year. 
 

6. How do I print my license? 
 

Licenses may be printed online at https://sbs.naic.org/solar-external-lookup/license-
manager.  We no longer mail license copies.   
 

7. I am a veteran; can I be reimbursed for any licensing fees? 
Veterans can be reimbursed for licensing exam fees. The reimbursement form can 
be downloaded from our website. For more information, please see the Department 
of Veterans affairs website. 

http://www.prometric.com/
http://www.nipr.com/
https://doi.nebraska.gov/producers/license
http://www.nipr.com/
https://doi.nebraska.gov/producers/license
https://doi.nebraska.gov/producers/license
https://doi.nebraska.gov/producers/license
https://doi.nebraska.gov/sites/doi.nebraska.gov/files/doc/When%20Does%20My%20Producer%20Insurance%20License%20Renew_0.pdf
https://sbs.naic.org/solar-external-lookup/license-manager
https://sbs.naic.org/solar-external-lookup/license-manager
https://doi.nebraska.gov/sites/doi.nebraska.gov/files/doc/va-form_22-0803.pdf
http://www.benefits.va.gov/gibill/licensing_certification.asp
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8. How do I update my  address and contact information? 

Changes to home, business, and mailing addresses orphone numbers, may be 
updated online through the National Insurance Producer Registry at www.nipr.com 
or by downloading a Change Request Form from our website.  
 

9. How do I update my email address information? 
Changes to home or business email addresses may be updated online through 
State Based Systems at https://sbs.naic.org/solar-external-lookup/license-manager 
or by downloading a Change Request Form from our website. 
  

10. How do I add a new line of authority to my existing license? 
If you hold a Nebraska resident license then an exam is required for all major lines of 
authority and some limited lines. Please visit www.prometric.com for information on 
which exams are offered, exam content, and taking the state exam. After you have 
passed the state exam, you may add the new line of authority online at 
www.nipr.com or download a Change Request form from our website. 
 
For non-resident producers you can either add the line of authority online at 
www.nipr.com or download a Change Request form from our website.  
 

11.  How do I request a change on the following? 
 

 Name 
 Date of Birth 
 Social Security Number 
 Line of Authority 
   
Download and complete the Change Request form from our website. Requests may 
be mailed, emailed to doi.licensing@nebraska.gov or faxed to (402) 471-6559.   

 
12.  How do I renew my resident Nebraska producer license? 

 

The best way to  renew your license is online at www.nipr.com. A Producer License 
Renewal form can also be completed and mailed to the Department, along with the 
renewal fee.  Renewal notices are emailed to you approximately 60 days prior to 
your expiration date.  
 
CE providers are allowed up to ten days to upload completed CE so please allow 
ample time for your license renewal. Late renewals will be assessed a $40.00 late 
fee.  
 

13.  How do I view my continuing education transcript? 
 

Your completed continuing education can be viewed at the following link: 
https://sbs.naic.org/solar-external-lookup/license-manager. 
 

14.  How do I renew my non-resident Nebraska producer license? 
 

The best way to renew your license is online at www.nipr.com. A Producer License 
Renewal form can also be completed and mailed to the Department, along with the 
renewal fee.  Renewal notices are emailed to you approximately 60 days prior to 
your expiration date. 
 
 
 

http://www.nipr.com/
https://doi.nebraska.gov/sites/doi.nebraska.gov/files/doc/Change%20Request%20Form%20DOI-9110%20%281%29.pdf
https://sbs.naic.org/solar-external-lookup/license-manager
https://doi.nebraska.gov/sites/doi.nebraska.gov/files/doc/Change%20Request%20Form%20DOI-9110%20%281%29.pdf
http://www.prometric.com/
http://www.nipr.com/
https://doi.nebraska.gov/sites/doi.nebraska.gov/files/doc/Change%20Request%20Form%20DOI-9110%20%281%29.pdf
http://www.nipr.com/
https://doi.nebraska.gov/sites/doi.nebraska.gov/files/doc/Change%20Request%20Form%20DOI-9110%20%281%29.pdf
https://doi.nebraska.gov/sites/doi.nebraska.gov/files/doc/Change%20Request%20Form%20DOI-9110%20%281%29.pdf
mailto:doi.licensing@nebraska.gov
http://www.nipr.com/
https://doi.nebraska.gov/sites/doi.nebraska.gov/files/doc/License%20Renewal%20Form.pdf
https://doi.nebraska.gov/sites/doi.nebraska.gov/files/doc/License%20Renewal%20Form.pdf
https://sbs.naic.org/solar-external-lookup/license-manager
https://sbs.naic.org/solar-external-lookup/license-manager
https://sbs.naic.org/solar-external-lookup/license-manager
http://www.nipr.com/
https://doi.nebraska.gov/sites/doi.nebraska.gov/files/doc/License%20Renewal%20Form.pdf
https://doi.nebraska.gov/sites/doi.nebraska.gov/files/doc/License%20Renewal%20Form.pdf
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15.  Can I late renew my individual license? 
An expired license (30 days or less) may be late renewed online at www.nipr.com or 
by mailing in the Producer License Renewal form with your renal fee plus a $40.00 
late fee.  If your license has been expired for longer than 30 days but less than a 
year, then you can get it reinstated by submitting a new application either online or 
by paper and paying a $90.00 fee. Resident licensees will also need to have their 
CE up to date. 
 

16.  How do I reinstate my resident Nebraska producer license? 
 

You may reinstate online at www.nipr.com or by downloading a Resident Producer 
License application from our website.  Resident applicants whose license has been 
expired longer than one year will need to complete the exam requirements. 
 

17. How do I reinstate my non-resident Nebraska producer license? 
 

You may apply online at www.nipr.com or by downloading a Non-Resident Producer 
License application from our website.   
 

18.  How do I view the status of my producer license in Nebraska? 
 

You may view the status of your license at https://sbs.naic.org/solar-external-
lookup/license-manager. 
 

19.  How often may I repeat a continuing education course? 
 

A producer may not repeat the same continuing education course for credit within 
the same two-year renewal period. A course can be retaken if the previous credit 
was applied towards a prior renewal period. 

 
20.  I have more than the required credits to renew my license. Can I carry them 

over to the next licensing cycle?  
 

No, continuing education credits may not be carried over to the next renewal period.  
 

21.  Does the State of Nebraska license insurance adjusters? 
 

Yes, effective 7/19/2018 a new Public Adjuster license type is available. A license 
application and instructions can found on our website.  
 

22.  Can I convert my Insurance Consultant license to a Public Adjuster license? 
No, the public adjuster license is a separate license type. You must submit a new 
public adjuster application and fees in order to apply for the license. Effective 
7/19/2018 Insurance Consultants can no longer perform public adjusting duties and 
need to apply for the new public adjuster license in order to continue adjusting. 
 

23.  Does your state require clearance letters to issue a resident producer 
license? 

 

Nebraska does not require a clearance letter to issue a license.  
  

24.  Can a person whom is not a U.S. citizen obtain a producer license? 
 

Yes, they must provide proof of work authorization at the time of the initial 
application and each renewal. 
 
 

http://www.nipr.com/
https://doi.nebraska.gov/sites/doi.nebraska.gov/files/doc/Producer%20Lic%20Renewal%20Form.pdf
http://www.nipr.com/
https://doi.nebraska.gov/producers/license
http://www.nipr.com/
https://doi.nebraska.gov/producers/license
https://sbs.naic.org/solar-external-lookup/license-manager
https://sbs.naic.org/solar-external-lookup/license-manager
https://doi.nebraska.gov/producers/public-adjuster-license-information-0


  Rev 5/2019 

25.  How do I process an appointment or termination of appointment?  
 

Appointments and appointment terminations must be processed online through the 
National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) at www.nipr.com. 

 
 
 
Agency Licensing 

 
1. How do I obtain a resident Nebraska insurance agency license? 

 

You may apply online at www.nipr.com or by downloading a Resident Agency 
License application from our website.  The fee is $50.00. 
 

2. How do I obtain a non-resident Nebraska insurance agency license? 
 

You may apply online at www.nipr.com or by downloading a Non-Resident Agency 
License application from our website.  The fee is $50.00. 
 

3. How do I renew my resident insurance agency license? 
 

You may renew your license online at www.nipr.com.  A copy of the emailed renewal 
notice can also be mailed to the Department, along with the renewal fee.  Renewal 
notices are emailed to you approximately 60 days prior to your expiration date.  
 

 *Please Note – If you do not have an agency license in your Home State, then you will not be 
able to renew your non-resident NE license online. 

 
4. How do I renew my non-resident insurance agency license? 

 

The best way to renew your license is online at www.nipr.com.   A copy of the 
emailed renewal notice can also be mailed to the Department, along with the 
renewal fee.  Renewal notices are emailed to you approximately 60 days prior to 
your expiration date.  
 

5. How do I reinstate my resident insurance agency license? 
 

You may apply online at www.nipr.com or by downloading a Resident Agency 
License application from our website.   
 

6. How do I reinstate my non-resident insurance agency license? 
 

You may apply online at www.nipr.com or by downloading a Non-Resident Agency 
License application from our website.   
 

7. How do I update my agency or business address? 
 

You can either submit a written request to update an agency address or you can 
download the Agency Change Request Form from our website. Requests may be 
mailed, emailed to doi.licensing@nebraska.gov or faxed to (402) 471-6559.   
 

8. How do I change the designated producer on our agency license? 
 

You can download the Agency License Amendment Form 9002A from our website. 
 

9. How do I view the status of my insurance agency license in Nebraska? 
 

You may view the status of your license at https://sbs.naic.org/solar-external-
lookup/license-manager. 

 

http://www.nipr.com/
http://www.nipr.com/
https://doi.nebraska.gov/producers/license
http://www.nipr.com/
https://doi.nebraska.gov/producers/license
http://www.nipr.com/
http://www.nipr.com/
http://www.nipr.com/
https://doi.nebraska.gov/producers/license
http://www.nipr.com/
https://doi.nebraska.gov/producers/license
https://doi.nebraska.gov/sites/doi.nebraska.gov/files/doc/Agency_Change_Request_Form.pdf
mailto:doi.licensing@nebraska.gov
https://doi.nebraska.gov/sites/doi.nebraska.gov/files/doc/9002A.pdf
https://sbs.naic.org/solar-external-lookup/license-manager
https://sbs.naic.org/solar-external-lookup/license-manager
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10. How do I check the Designated Responsible Licensed Producer (DRLP) for 
my agency? 

You can view your agency’s license information including the current Designated 
Responsible Licensed Producer(s) by going to the State Based Systems License 
Manager page at https://sbs.naic.org/solar-external-lookup/license-manager. 

https://sbs.naic.org/solar-external-lookup/license-manager
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