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1SURANCE

A Message from the Director....

External Appeals for Insured
Plans in Nebraska

Bruce R. Ramge

On September 15, 2010, the Department of

Insurance issued bulletin CB-123 to inform all health insurers
and insureds that the federal government provided additional
guidance to states that do not have external review laws for
adverse benefit decisions for health insurance plans.

Amendments to CB-123 were issued by the Department on
July 25, 2011. The bulletin was amended to alert all health
insurers and insureds that since the issuance of CB-123, the
federal government has issued amended rules and regulations
regarding internal and external appeals. A copy of
CB-123 (Amended) can be found on the Department’s website
located at www.doi.ne.gov/bulletin/cb123.pdf.

Insurers are strongly encouraged to read and review the
changes to the rules and regulations and adjust accordingly.
Following are relevant links to the additional regulations and
guidance issued by the federal government:

http://www.federalregister.gov/articles/2011/06/24/2011-
15890/group-health-plans-and-health-insurance-issuers-rules-
relating-to-internal-claims-and-appeals-and

http://www.dol.gov/ebsa/newsroom/tr11-02.html

Questions regarding CB-123 (Amended) may be directed to
Martin Swanson, Counsel, at 402-471-2201 or via email at
martin.swanson@nebraska.gov.



T!

i

SUMMER 2011

Page 2

FrRAUD DiviSION

Insurance Fraud Awareness Week

On July 13, 2011, Governor Dave Heineman signed the “Insurance Fraud Awareness Week”
proclamation. Insurance Fraud Awareness Week is a campaignh to educate consumers and
insurers on the costs associated with insurance fraud. Costs of insurance fraud in Nebraska
during 2010 are broken down as follows:

Cases Reporting Actual Loss 79 16% of Cases

Cases Reporting Potential Loss 111 (22% of Cases)

Cases Reporting Monetary Loss 190 of Cases Reported Losses

Actual Losses $27,445,319.16 79 Cases Reported Actual Losses = 16%

Potential Losses $3,656,058.24 111 Cases Reported Potential Losses = 22%

Reported Losses $31,101,377.40 $31.1 Million Reported Losses - 32% of Cases Reported Losses

Financial Abuse of the Elderly

The Insurance Fraud Prevention Division (IFPD) continues to receive investigative referrals
regarding financial abuse of the elderly. Unfortunately, what often appears to be a “good deed” is
nothing more than confidence building with the potential elderly victim. The IFPD has seen these
“good deeds” in the form of yard work, snow removal, and on one occasion an individual
purchased a puppy for the potential elderly victim. Numerous schemes may lack personal
contact and may be in the form of telephone or computer relationship building with victims that often
feel isolated from their families and friends.

The IFPD would like to remind insurance company special investigators to be alert to the warning
signs that elderly financial abuse may be occurring. Unusual patterns should be noted including
financial transactions that seem out of the ordinary for the insured, frequent changes in address
and/or contact information, and suddenly having a new “friend” who may be handling their
financial affairs. Suspected elderly fraud or abuse should be reported to authorities for review, not
only to protect the victim’s assets, but those of the insurance company which may ultimately be the
victim should restitution become a factor.

Court Actions

Buffalo County Court, CR10-2876

State v. Fredrick A. Brayton

Pursuant to a plea agreement, Fredrick A. Brayton pled no contest to false reporting, a Class |
misdemeanor. Mr. Brayton was fined $250 plus court costs and ordered to serve 12 months’ probation.
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Douglas County Court, CR10-27968

State v. Hessonite Mock

Hessonite Mock was charged in Douglas County and pled guilty to a Class | misdemeanor for violating
Neb.Rev.Stat. §28-631(1)(h) “knowingly and with intent to defraud or deceive possesses fake or
counterfeit insurance policies, certificates of insurance, insurance identification cards, or insurance
binders.” Mr. Mock was ordered to pay a $300 fine plus the cost of prosecution.

Douglas County District Court, 185099

State v. Mary R. Wong

Mary R. Wong, a formerly licensed insurance agent, was charged in Douglas County with one felony count
of theft by deception as the result of an IFPD investigation. Ms. Wong, who contracted as a territorial
manager to sell supplemental health insurance policies, devised a scheme to submit bogus insurance
applications resulting in her collecting advanced commissions. On January 3, 2011, Ms. Wong was
sentenced by District Court Judge Thomas Otepka to serve a 20-month sentence at a Nebraska
Department of Correctional Services facility and ordered to pay $154.50 in court costs. In addition,
Ms. Wong must submit to a DNA test and associated costs. Ms. Wong was previously convicted in Federal
Court (Case 8:09c¢r328-001) for a high profile Ponzi scheme after being accused of scamming several
investors. United States District Judge Laurie Smith Camp referred to Ms. Wong as “a great danger to
society” and sentenced her to 63 months in prison. Ms. Wong will have three years of federal supervision
upon her release.

Hall County Court, CR10-3679

State v. Angelica Mendoza-De Erives

In an investigation conducted by the IFPD, it was found Angelica Mendoza-De Erives allowed another
person to use her insurance card to obtain medical care. Ms. Mendoza-De Erives was charged with one
count of theft by deception. Ms. Mendoza-De Erives was found guilty and ordered to pay a $200 fine plus
court costs and restitution in the amount of $267.04.

Lancaster County Court, CR10-21329

State v. Nawanda A. Peacock

Nawanda Peacock was charged in Lancaster County with a violation of the Insurance Fraud Act, a Class IV
felony. Ms. Peacock was accepted into the Lancaster County Diversion Services Program requiring her to
abide by terms and conditions of the program.

Lancaster County Court, CR11-224

State v. Joseph C. Vaughn

On January 7, 2011, Joseph Vaughn pled guilty to one count of false reporting and was ordered to pay a
$1,000 fine plus court costs.

Lincoln County Court, CR10-1542

State v. Matthew W. Anderson

On January 20, 2011, Matthew Anderson pled no contest to false reporting, a Class | misdemeanor.
Mr. Anderson was sentenced to six months’ probation and fees totaling $220.

Madison County District Court, CR10-235

State v. Trent R. Larson

Pursuant to a plea agreement, Trent Larson pled guilty to the charge of theft by unlawful taking, a Class IV
felony. Mr. Larson’s sentence included a $500 fine, $2,237.34 in restitution, 24 months’ probation plus
fees, chemical testing plus fees, 180 days jail, 80 hours community service, moral reconation therapy, and
a letter of apology to the victims.
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Saunders County Court, CR10-504

State v. Sean M. Williams

Sean Williams was charged in Saunders County with one count of insurance fraud relating to an
automobile accident. During the course of the accident investigation, Mr. Williams advised the
responding officer that he had automobile insurance, however, did not have his insurance
information with him. Mr. Williams purchased a policy shortly after the accident in an attempt
to bind coverage for the automobile accident. Mr. Williams was ordered to pay $500 in
restitution to the claimant driver as reimbursement for their policy deductible, $2,675.31 to the
insurance company for damages they paid to their insured, and court costs and probationary
fees. Mr. Williams will serve a 12-month probationary sentence and perform 40 hours of
community service at the direction of the probation office.

PROPERTY & CASUALTY DivISION

State of the Marketplace Survey

We are once again going to be sending a survey to various
producers throughout the state asking about the state of the
marketplace.  Neb.Rev.Stat. §44-7507 requires that the

If you didn’t receive the survey, but

would like to share your thoughts Director monitor competition and the availability of insurance in
on the marketplace in your area, commercial insurance markets. We also feel that we need to
please contact Bev Anderson at ; i

4024714654 or by email at be aware.of thg mquethace for pgrsonal Ilpes insurance, so
bev.anderson@nebraska.gov. the questionnaire will include questions relating to both. If you

are a producer who didn’t receive the survey, but would like to
share your thoughts on the marketplace in your area, please
contact Bev Anderson at 402-471-4654 or by email at
bev.anderson@nebraska.gov.

SERFF Reminder

We have been on a SERFF-only method of submission for over
a year, and we are happy to report that things have gone quite
well. Please be reminded, however, that once the filing is

Once the filing is made in SERFF, . . .
all changes need to be submitted made in SERFF, all changtlas. peeo! to b.e submlttgd in SERFF.
in SERFF—submitting editorial We are finding that the initial filing is made in SERFF as
changes as paper filings will required, but after it has been accepted, a paper filing with

delay final action. “editorial changes” will be received. This paper filing will be

returned to the carrier, along with a directive that the filing be
resubmitted through SERFF. It is important to note that
submitting as a paper filing will delay final action.




Under most commercial property
coverages and some homeowner
and related dwelling-type policies,
there are limitations of coverage for
personal property removed from the
insured premises.

It is not reasonable to compel
insureds to comply with neglect
and/or preservation of property
provisions while at the same time
subjecting their property to drastically
reduced levels of coverage.

It is strongly encouraged that any
property removed from its insured
premises on or after May 25, 2011,
from areas flooded or in danger of
flooding, should be covered at the
same amount as if the property were
located at the insured premises.

T!

i

SUMMER 2011

Page 5

Temporary Property Coverage Requirements

On June 14, 2011, a notice was issued by Director Ramge to all
property and casualty insurers and producers to provide
information regarding  temporary  property coverage
requirements as a result of the recent flooding. Nebraska has
a number of disaster areas related to the flooding with
numerous individual residences and businesses being located
in evacuation zones. Leaving personal property in areas that
are or potentially are in evacuation zones increases the risk
that the personal property will be subject to covered perils such
as fire, theft and vandalism.

Under most commercial property coverages and some
homeowner and related dwelling-type policies, there are
limitations of coverage for personal property removed from the
insured premises. These same policies also exclude coverage
for neglect of personal property. Some policies also provide
coverage for preservation of property.

The Director has determined it is not reasonable to compel
insureds to comply with neglect and/or preservation of property
provisions while at the same time subjecting their property to
drastically reduced levels of coverage. It is, therefore, strongly
encouraged that any property removed from its insured
premises on or after May 25, 2011, from areas flooded or in
danger of flooding, should be covered at the same amount as if
the property were located at the insured premises. After
July 15, 2011, insurers may subject the personal property to
any applicable reduced coverages as provided for in the policy
for being located away from the insured premises.

The July 15, 2011 time frame applicable to personal property
removed does provide producers and their insurers time to
extend or add coverage as may be needed by affected
insureds. In order to expedite the providing of additional
coverage for relocated personal property, a suspension of
certain rate and form filing requirements is hereby provided.
For any policy form issued in this state, which will add or
enhance coverage for personal property located away from the
insured premises for dates of coverage commencing between
June 1, 2011 and September 1, 2011, insurers are reminded
of their ability to use forms immediately upon filing.



Upon request and without charge,
insurers must provide duplicate
copies of policies to insureds.

Provisions of the June 14 notice

apply to any insurer providing coverage
to an affected person in this state
whether the coverage is provided on
an admitted or surplus lines basis.

To avoid misunderstanding when
providing a list of preferred shops,
insurers are encouraged to include

a notice reminding the claimant of the
right to choose an alternate facility.
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Upon request and without charge, insurers must provide
duplicate copies of policies to insureds in order to provide
affected insureds with the information necessary to make
claims and to take other steps as may be provided for or
required under the terms of the policies.

If, for reasons such as administrative efficiency, an insurer
wishes to comply with this notice by providing coverage to
insureds on a wider basis than the identification of specifically
affected insureds, such more favorable treatment is specifically
permitted by the June 14 notice. The more favorable treatment
can include but is not limited to application of the notice on a
territory, zip code or statewide basis.

Provisions of the June 14 notice apply to any insurer providing
coverage to an affected person in this state whether the
coverage is provided on an admitted or surplus lines basis.
Affected persons include coverage either upon individuals or
their property located in this state.

Questions concerning the notice regarding temporary property
coverage requirements may be directed to Bev Anderson at
402-471-2201. The notice is located on the Department’s
website at www.doi.ne.gov/notices/notc2011/notice07.pdf.

CoNSUMER AFFAIRS DiviSION

Use of Vehicle Repair Facilities

Recently, a body shop owner contacted the Department to
report that an interpreter for a non-English speaking claimant
had been provided with a list of designated repair shops.
Because of the language barrier, the business owner was
concerned the claimant would not understand he had a choice
as to which vehicle repair facility to use.

To avoid misunderstanding when providing a list of preferred
shops, insurers are encouraged to include a notice reminding
the claimant of the right to choose an alternate facility. Please
feel free to reference the Department of Insurance Consumer
Alert, “Choosing a Vehicle Repair Facility”. The alert can be
found at www.doi.ne.gov/brochure/conalert/out07163.pdf.
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LiFE & HEALTH DivisiON

New Staff
Sherri Brouillette has joined th : . .
d,-v‘f;,-i’,n;‘;”; itaifaa;{;’;’ﬁtfoﬁhe We welcome Sherri Brouillette to the Life and Health staff.
Rate Review and Exchange programs. Sherri is the staff assistant for the Rate Review and Exchange
programs, and will be heavily involved in assisting with the daily
activities of both.

Prompt Payment

Any compliance statement As described in Neb.Rev.Stat. §§44-8005 and 44-8006, prompt
submitted after December 1 payment compliance statements for 2011 can be submitted
will not be accepted. now through December 1, 2011. All compliance statements
must be submitted through SERFF. Any compliance statement
submitted after December 1 will not be accepted.

Effective Rate Review Program

On July 1, 2011, the Nebraska Department of Insurance was notified by the Federal HHS that we
have been deemed to have an Effective Rate Review Program in all markets.

Some of the determining factors for an Effective Rate Review Program are as follows:

o The state must have the Authority to collect and analyze information required in the Patient
Protection and Affordable Care Act.

o The state must provide access from its website to Parts | and Il of the Preliminary
Justifications for the proposed rate increases it reviews.

e The state must provide a means for public input on proposed rate increases.

e The state must provide CMS its final determination as to whether a rate increase is
unreasonable within five days of determination.

As a reminder, due to reporting requirements presented in the Patient Protection and Affordable
Care Act, all health rate filings must be submitted separately from all health forms. If you have
any questions, please contact the Life and Health Administrator at 402-471-2201.

Outreach and Transparency
Secondary to the requirements presented under the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act,

the Nebraska Department of Insurance has set forth an effort to promote transparency and
consumer education by implementing a web-based tool that will provide the Nebraska
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consumers descriptive information regarding rate increases. The tool also contains a
subscription service allowing consumers to sign up for email notification when their insurance
company files for a rate adjustment.

In addition to the web-based tool, the Department has created a brochure outlining common
components in a rate increase. An email address for consumers to submit their comments to the
Department on rate increases has also been created. The quantified information presented in
the comments will be analyzed by the appropriate Department staff. The results of the quantified
information will be conveyed to the insurers to determine if there are any additional cost
containment measures that can be taken to mitigate premium increases and also to assist them
in identifying rate or plan specific complaints that may not otherwise reach them. A preview of
these outreach and transparency features can be found on the Department’s website at
www.doi.ne.gov.

PrRoDUCER LICENSING DiviSION

Continuing Education Requirements Effective January 1, 2012

In order to follow NAIC uniform guidelines for continuing education requirements, a change has
been implemented in regards to the continuing education requirements for producers holding
one or more major lines of authority. All licensees with one or more major lines of authority will
be required to complete a total of 24 hours of continuing education in a two-year renewal period
beginning January 1, 2012.

Licensees qualified to solicit one or more major lines of authority shall be required to complete
the following approved continuing education activities and three hours of ethics in each two-year
period beginning January 1, 2012.

Life 21 hours
Health 21 hours
Combined Life and Health 21 hours
Property 21 hours
Casualty 21 hours
Combined Property and Casualty 21 hours
Personal Lines 21 hours
Title 6 hours
Crop 3 hours
Variable 21 hours
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The current continuing education requirements still apply through December 31, 2011.
Licensees qualified to solicit one or more major lines of authority shall be required to complete
the following approved continuing education activities and three hours of ethics in each two-year
period through until December 31, 2011.

Life 6 hours
Health 6 hours
Combined Life and Health 12 hours
Property 21 hours
Casualty 21 hours
Combined Property and Casualty 21 hours
Personal Lines 21 hours
Title 6 hours
Crop 3 hours
Variable 6 hours

Ethics Requirement

In addition to the hours required above, licensees are required to complete three hours of
approved continuing education activities on insurance industry ethics.

Insurance consultants and brokers shall be required to complete 21 hours of continuing
education activities and three hours of approved continuing education activities on insurance
industry ethics in each two-year period.

No licensee shall be required to complete more than 24 cumulative hours in any two-year period.

Reminders to Continuing Education Providers

e All updated forms for continuing education providers are located on our website under
Continuing Education and Prelicensing Course Information. Please visit the Department’s
website at www.doi.ne.gov/license/ce_index.htm to access the forms. Incorrect forms have
recently been received. This does not apply to providers offering prelicensing courses.

e Continuing education courses do not expire. Please notify the Department when a course is
no longer being offered.

e The Department requires the NAIC Uniform Continuing Education Reciprocity Course Filing
Form for all course approvals. The Nebraska specific course filing form is no longer required.

o Do not submit course filings in duplicate. Duplicate filings are no longer required.

o All course filings must be received 30 days prior to first offering.

e All course offering dates, times, and locations must be submitted 14 days prior to offering.
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e Course approval notifications are emailed to providers. Please provide a current email
address on all course submissions. Approval letters are no longer mailed out.

e All new providers must submit a contact and signer information sheet found at
www.doi.ne.gov/license/Contact_Signer_Letter_Instr.pdf.

Any questions concerning producer licensing may be directed to the division at 402-471-4913.

LEGAL DivisiON

Enrolling in the Pre-Existing Condition Insurance Plan

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) announced new steps to reduce
premiums and make it easier for Americans to enroll in the Pre-Existing Condition Insurance
Plan. Premiums for the Federally-administered Pre-Existing Condition Insurance Plan (PCIP) will
drop in Nebraska and eligibility standards will be eased. The Pre-Existing Condition Insurance
Plan was created under the Affordable Care Act and serves as a bridge to 2014 when there will
be guaranteed issue under the Federal law.

Starting July 1, 2011, people applying for coverage can simply provide a letter from a doctor,
physician assistant, or nurse practitioner dated within the past 12 months stating that they have
or, at any time in the past, had a medical condition, disability, or illness. Applicants will no
longer have to wait on an insurance company to send them a denial letter. This option became
available to children under age 19 in February, and this pathway is being extended to all
applicants regardless of age. Applicants will still need to meet other eligibility criteria, including
that they are U.S. citizens or residing in the U.S. legally and that they have been without health
coverage for six months.

To further enhance the program, beginning this fall, HHS will begin paying agents and brokers for
successfully connecting eligible people with the PCIP program. The monthly premiums for
Nebraska are:

Age Standard Option Extended Option HSA Option
Oto 18 $132 $177 $137
19to 34 $198 $266 $205
35to 44 $237 $320 $246
45to 54 $303 $408 $315
55+ $421 $568 $438

In addition to monthly premium, there is a $1,000 to $3,000 deductible, which varies by plan
option, for covered medical benefits (except for preventive services) before the plan starts to
pay. A plan option may have a separate drug deductible. After the deductible, a $25 copayment
for doctor visits, $4 to $40 for most prescription drugs, and 20% of the costs of any other
covered benefits will be applied. Out-of-pocket costs cannot be more than $5,950 per year.
These costs may be higher outside of the plan’s network.
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For more information, including eligibility, plan benefits and rates, as well as information on how
to apply, visit www.pcip.gov and click on “Find Your State.” Then select your State from a map of
the United States or from the drop-down menu. The PCIP Call Center is open from 8:00 a.m. to
11:00 p.m. (EST) and may be reached toll-free at 1-866-717-5826 (TTY 1-866-561-1604).

Reimbursement of Medical Services to Veterans

A new and final rule introduced by the Department of Veteran Affairs (VA) concerning the
reimbursement of medical services delivered to veterans for non-service connected conditions
will become effective July 25, 2011.

Under federal statute a third-party payer, typically a private medical insurer, must pay the United
States the reasonable charges for medical care provided to a veteran by the VA for
non-service related conditions, so long as the veteran would regularly be eligible to receive
payment for such care from the third party. Occasionally, third-party payers are, or believe they
are, owed a refund from the VA for overpaying for a veteran’s care. It is a common business
practice for third-party payers to offset a future and unrelated payment to effectively recoup what
they believe they are owed. As a result, VA accounting principles are disrupted and
complicated. Additionally, this practice damages the VA’'s ability to validate an alleged
overpayment and pursue a review of the debt.

The VA proposed an amendment to their regulations concerning reimbursement on October 8,
2010 in the Federal Register and allowed for a 60-day comment period. Several minor changes
were made to the rule before introducing the final rule. Under the new rule, a
third-party payer may not offset or reduce “any payment due...on the grounds that payer
considers itself due a refund from a VA facility. A written request for a refund must be
submitted and adjudicated separately from any other claims.” The VA intends timely review of
these written requests with a goal of 90 days.

For more information on this new rule, please visit the federal register page located at

www.federalregister.gov/articles/2011/06/24/2011-15854 /reimbursement-offsets-for-
medical-care-or-services.

Regulation Updates

Company Bulletins

CB-123 (Amended) - EXTERNAL APPEALS FOR INSURED PLANS IN NEBRASKA

CB-123 was amended on July 25, 2011 for the purpose of alerting all health insurers and
insureds that the federal government has issued amended rules and regulations—since the
issuance of CB-123—regarding internal and external appeals. A copy of CB-123 (Amended) can
be found on the Department’s website at www.doi.ne.gov/bulletin/cb123.pdf.
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CAUSE No. ALLEGATION DisPosSITION
C-1888 Violated Neb.Rev.Stat. §8§44-1539, 44-1540(2), Consent Order
Bankers Life and Casualty (4), (7), & (8), and NAC Chapter 61 §§008.01, $2,500 admin. fine
Company 008.02, 008.03, 008.04, & 008.08. Unfair 6/16/2011
Illinois Insurance Claims Settlement Practices Act; and

Unfair Life, Sickness and Accident Claims

Settlement Practices rule.
C-1890 Violated Neb.Rev.Stat. §8§44-1539, 44-1540(2), Consent Order
Bankers Life and Casualty (4), (7), & (8), 44-5905, and NAC Chapter 61 §§ $5,000 admin. fine
Company 008.01, 008.02, 008.03, 008.04, & 008.08. 6/16/2011
lllinois Unfair Insurance Claims Settlement Practices Act;

Insurers Examination Act; and Unfair Life, Sickness

and Accident Claims Settlement Practices rule.
C-1894 Violated Neb.Rev.Stat. §§44-1539, 44-1540, and Consent Order
USAA Casualty Insurance NAC Chapter 60 8§8008.01 & 008.02. Unfair $3,000 admin. fine
Company Insurance Claims Settlement Practices Act; and 6/9/2011
Texas Unfair Property and Casualty Settlement Practices

rule.
C-1896 Violated Neb.Rev.Stat. §8§44-1524, 44-1525(3), Consent Order

Penn Treaty Network

and NAC Chapter 36 016.02A. Unfair Insurance

$100 admin. fine

American Insurance Trade Practices Act; and Regulation to Implement 6/13/2011
Company (In Rehabilitation) the Medicare Supplement Insurance Minimum
Pennsylvania Standard Act.
Actions Taken Against Producers
CAUSE No. ALLEGATION DisPosITION
A-1907 Violated Neb.Rev.Stat. §§44-4059(1)(a). Provided Order
Carl R. Taylor incorrect information on an application for a Producer license revoked
Omaha, NE producer license. 4/13/2011

NPN - 9154482

A-1910

Brown County Abstract
Company and

Cheryl Ann Mizner
Long Pine, NE

NPN -3188164

Violated Neb.Rev.Stat. §§44-1525(11) and 44-
4059(1)(b). Failed to respond in 15 business
days; violated any insurance law.

Consent Order
$500 admin. fine
4/28/2011
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CAUSE No. ALLEGATION DisPOSITION
A-1911 Violated Neb.Rev.Stat. §§44-1104(1)(j), 44-1525 Consent Order
Steven Paul Stebbing (11) and 44-4059(1)(b). Failed to respond in 15 $250 admin. fine
Cairo, NE business days; violated any insurance law. 5/4/2011

NPN - 3194108

A-1912
Wesley Drew Lawrence
Birmingham, AL

NPN - 5837751

A-1913

Bryan L. Reil
Lincoln, NE
NPN - 3229827
A-1914

William Reed
Omaha, NE

NPN - 30302

A-1915
Seth Aaron Hobart
Overland Park, KS

NPN - 8275794

Case Summaries

Violated Neb.Rev.Stat. §44-1104(1)(j), §§44-1525
(11) and 44-4059(1)(b). Failed to respond in 15
business days; violated any insurance law.

Violated Neb.Rev.Stat. §44-1104(1)(j), §§44-1525
(11) and 44-4059(1)(b). Failed to respond in 15
business days; violated any insurance law.

Hearing requested for reconsideration of denial
of application for nonresident producer license.

Violated Neb.Rev.Stat. §§44-1525(11) and 44-
4059(1)(b). Failed to respond in 15 business
days; violated any insurance law.

Consent Order
$250 admin. fine
5/25/2011

Consent Order
$250 admin. fine
5/4/2011

Order
Producer license granted
5/25/2011

Consent Order
$500 admin. fine
6/28/2011

In re Trust Created by Henry S. Hansen, deceased. Wells Fargo Bank, N.A., Trustee of the Henry
S. Hansen Trust, et al. v. Estate of Ruth Elaine Mansfield, 281 Neb. 693, June 2011

This appeal tackles of the question of whether, “a trustee violated its fiduciary duty by declining to
pay the amount of the beneficiary’s last iliness expenses to the beneficiary’s estate following her
death.” The facts show that in 1979 Henry S. Hansen executed an inter vivos trust to provide for
his care, support, and maintenance. The trust was to be continued until the death of his last
surviving daughter, either Mildred or Ruth. At the last daughter’'s death, the trust was to pay out
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$5,000 to Hansen’s surviving great-grandchildren and split the remainder between his two
grandchildren. Ruth had no children and outlived Mildred, dying in 2005 after years of
extensive medical care. The daughter of Ruth’s partner, Falion, assisted her in her final days
and began proceedings to become her guardian, however, Ruth died before Falion was
appointed.

Falion requested, as Ruth’'s “step-daughter”, that the trust pay Ruth’s medical expenses.
However, the trustee would not pay the claimed expenses, arguing that Ruth’s interest in the
trust terminated upon her death and Ruth’s estate had sufficient assets to pay the expenses.
Falion’s attorney then indicated that his firm was representing Ruth’s estate and requested that
the trust pay medical expenses and for the cost of the dismissed guardianship proceeding.

On December 12, 2008, the county court directed the trustee to determine “whether to pay
[Ruth’s] expenses related to her illness, and, if payable, how much as it may deem proper”
utilizing the legal standard adopted by previous Nebraska Supreme Court opinions. After this
decision, there were several appeals based solely on proposed procedural errors, however,
none were upheld and the county court’s decision was upheld.

Sylvia Devese, Personal Representative of the Estate of Stephen O’Bryant, deceased v.
Transguard Insurance Company of America, Inc., A Foreign Corporation, __ N.W.2d__, June
2011

Stephen O’Bryant was killed in a motor vehicle accident during the course of his employment as
a commercial truck driver. O'Bryant’s representative sought to recover under his occupational
accident policy with Transguard Insurance Company of America, Inc. (Transguard). The claim
was denied because O’'Bryant did not hold a valid commercial driver’s license at the time of the
accident. O'Bryant’s representative, Devese, brought a claim against Transguard for breach of
contract and bad faith, relying on specific contract language. Transguard moved for summary
judgment based on the contract’s definition of an “insured person” as someone holding a valid
commercial license. Devese responded that Transguard was required to show causation
between the absence of a valid commercial driver's license and the accident under
Neb.Rev.Stat. §44-358. The trial court granted summary judgment in favor of Transguard and
the Nebraska Court of Appeals affirmed. Because the Court of Appeals relied on a case with
considerable negative treatment in affirming the summary judgment, Devese appealed and the
Nebraska Supreme Court granted review.

The key question was whether the clause Transguard relied on was a “condition” to the policy,
as contemplated by Neb.Rev.Stat. §44-358, or whether it was an “exclusion”. The Court went
on to clarify that, “[a]n exclusion is a limitation of liability, or a carving out of certain types of
loss, to which the insurance coverage never applied. A preloss condition subsequent, in
contrast, is a provision that allows insurers to suspend or avoid coverage for a loss that occurs
while a failure of the condition exists after the risk has attached”. The Court previously
explained in D&S Realty that Neb.Rev.Stat. §44-358 limited an insurer’s ability to avoid liability
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for conditions “so broad that an insured’s violation of them is not causally relevant to the loss”.
D & S Realty v. Markel Ins. Co., 280 Neb. 567, 789 N.W.2d 1 (2010). Essentially, this means an
insurer cannot avoid liability by relying on a condition within the policy unless they show that the
condition in the policy is at least causally related to claimed loss.

The Nebraska Supreme Court reversed and remanded the case for further proceedings after
determining that the policy condition was excessively broad and Neb.Rev.Stat. §44-358
applied. Transguard will be required to show a connection between the accident and the risk
the policy condition protected against; i.e., a driver not maintaining a valid commercial driver’s
license. Transguard presented no evidence at the first trial regarding any possible
connectedness.

ExaAMINATION DIVISION

Financial Examinations Completed During Second Quarter, 2011

Columbia National Insurance Company

First National Life Insurance Company of the U.S.A.

Liberty National Life Insurance Company

Mutual Insurance Company of Saline and Seward Counties
Nebraska Community College Insurance Trust

Nebraska Intergovernmental Risk Management Association
Nebraska Intergovernmental Risk Management Association
Olive Branch Assessment Insurance Society, Inc.

Platte River Insurance Company

Preferred Professional Insurance Company (Limited Scope Exam)
UnitedHealthcare of the Midlands, Inc.

West Coast Life Insurance Company

Western United Mutual Insurance Association

Financial examination reports become public documents
once they have been placed on official file by the

Department. Copies may be obtained from the Department
at the cost of $.50 per page.
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Department Calendar

September 5: Department Closed - Labor Day
October 10: Department Closed - Columbus Day

November 11: Department Closed - Veterans’ Day



