REQUIREMENTS AND PROCEDURE FOR OBTAINING A VIATICAL SETTLEMENT BROKERS LICENSE WHO ARE NOT LIFE LICENSED

QUALIFICATIONS

- Applicant shall be at least 18 years of age.
- 2. Demonstrated evidence of financial responsibility.

PROCEDURE

Submit the "Viatical Settlement Broker Individual License Application" via NIPR.com then complete the bond or other evidence of financial responsibility and upload it to the attachments warehouse or email it to the Licensing Division at the address listed below.

EXAMINATION PROCEDURE

Information regarding the insurance examination procedure is available at www.prometric.com or from the Department of Insurance Licensing Division upon request.

LICENSE FEES

Initial License Fee	\$40.00
Renewal Fee	\$40.00

PRINTING LICENSES

The Nebraska Department of Insurance Licensing Division no longer mails out a hard copy of new or renewed licenses. A copy of your license can be downloaded or printed by going to NIPR.com and selecting "Printing Your License".

LICENSE RENEWAL

Initial individual licenses are issued to expire the last day of the month in the licensee's birth month in which his/her age is divisible by two.

Therefore, individuals born in <u>even</u> numbered years renew their license on their birthday in the <u>even</u> numbered years and individuals born in <u>odd</u> numbered years renew their license on their birthday in the <u>odd</u> numbered years.

DOI-INS_VSL Rev 3/2022

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS (2 YEARS) APPLIES TO RESIDENT LICENSEES WHO ARE NOT LIFE LICENSED ONLY

A resident viatical settlement broker is required to complete fifteen (15) hours of continuing education activities; Three (3) of the fifteen hours must be in the area of insurance related ethics.

Detailed information regarding the two-year continuing education requirements are available from the Department upon request.

CHANGE OF ADDRESS

Any person licensed under the Viatical Settlements Act shall notify the Department within thirty (30) days of any change of residential or business address. Address changes can be completed via NIPR.com or by submitting Form DOI-9110 to the Department.

Reasonable accommodations for disabled persons available upon request at (402) 471-2201. TDD users 800-833-7352 for relay to (402) 471-2201

NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE LICENSING DIVISION P.O. BOX 95087 LINCOLN, NE 68509-5087

E-mail: doi.licensing@Nebraska.gov Licensing Division: (402) 471-4913 DOI Main Line: (402) 471-2201 Toll Free: (833) 410-5609

DOI-INS_VSL Fax: (402) 471-4610 Rev 3/2022

BOND OR OTHER EVIDENCE OF FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY

Please mark the applicable option:

Each application must be accompanied by either (1) a surety bond executed and issued by an insurer authorized to issue surety bonds in Nebraska or evidence of the existence of a deposit of cash, certificates of deposit, or securities or any combination thereof in the amount of \$250,000, or (2) proof that financial instruments in accordance with these requirements have been filed with one or more states where the applicant is licensed as a viatical settlement broker.

Any surety bond issued pursuant to this clause must be in favor of Nebraska and must specifically authorize recovery by the director of the Department of Insurance on behalf of any person in Nebraska who sustained damages as the result of erroneous acts, failure to act, conviction of fraud, or conviction of unfair practices by the viatical settlement broker.

rease mark the appreaded option.			
	SURETY BOND 1. A surety bond in the amount of \$250,000. The surety bond must be executed on the form included in this application. Attach the original copy of the properly executed bond and acknowledgment of principal/surety and power of attorney.		
	OTHER EVIDENCE OF FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY 2. In lieu of a surety bond, the applicant may deposit with the director, or with banks in Nebraska that the applicant designates, cash, certificates of deposit, or securities or any combination thereof to an aggregate amount, based upon principal amount or market value, whichever is lower, of not less than the amount of \$250,000. The cash, certificates of deposit, or securities must be deposited and held to secure the same obligations as the security device. The depositor shall receive all interest and dividends. The depositor may, with the approval of the director, substitute other securities for those deposited.		

We will accept proof of cash, certificates of deposit or securities that have been filed in another state where the applicant is licensed as a viatical settlement broker.

BOND N	UMBER	

STATE OF NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF INSURNACE VIATICAL SETTLEMENT PROVIDER/BROKER SURETY BOND

ame of Viatical Settlement Provider/Broker)
te of incorporation, e.g., "a Nebraska Corporation")
Number, city, state, and zip code of office covered by this bond)
, a corporation duly organized under is authorized to engage in the business of insurance and firmly bound to the Department of Insurance of
ind themselves, their representatives, successors and
quired by Nebraska Revised Statutes, Section 44- ncipal with the terms of Nebraska Revised Statutes, gal obligations arising out of the Principal's conduct
raska and any person suffering damages by reason of Revised Statutes, Sections 44-1101 to 44-1117 or cipal's conduct as a Viatical Settlement Provider or
atutes, Sections 44-1101 to 44-1117, or other legal as a Viatical Settlement Provider or Broker, the damaged as a result of such violation, shall have, in action on this bond in the name of the injured party as the result of erroneous acts, failure to act, tices by the Viatical Settlement Provider or Broker.
y by giving thirty (30) days' notice in writing of its ce of the State of Nebraska and said Surety shall be ond thirty days after receipt of said notice by the ka.
shall continue in force and the number of premiums I limit of liability shall not be cumulative from year to
, 20
Bv:
By:(Signature of Attorney in Fact of Surety Company)
D
By:(Signature of Sole Proprietor, Partner, or President)

ACKNOWLEDGMENT BY SURETY

STATE OF	
COUNTY OF) ss.)
On this day of	
	, a Notary Public, within and for said County and State,
personally appeared	to me personally known to be the
Attorney-in-Fact of and for	and acknowledged
that he or she executed the said inst	rument as the free act and deed of said Company.
In witness whereof, I have hereunto County, the day and year in this cer	set my hand and affixed my official seal, at my office in the aforesaid tificate first above written.
	Notary Public in the State of: County of: