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CAUTION! 
Persons who give away or transfer assets in 

order to get Medicaid help may end up 
waiƟng longer before Medicaid will help. 

ASSESSMENT OF RESOURCES 
 

The  Department  of  Health  and  Human 
Services will complete an assessment form to 
find  out  the  total  value  of  the  couple’s 
combined  finances  during  the  month  of 
admission to the nursing home. 
 
This assessment will help decide  the amount 
of assets the spouse at home may keep. One 
must be able to show proof of assets owned. 
 
The  spouse  at  home  should  contact  
iServeNebraska at 855‐632‐7633 to fill out the 
assessment form.  

RESOURCE LIMITS 
 

Most  assets  (such  as  bank  accounts,  stocks, 
bonds,  etc.)  are  considered  as  joint  assets 
between  a  husband  and  wife  under  the 
Spousal  Impoverishment  ProtecƟon  Law.  It 
does  not  maƩer  in  whose  name  they  are 
placed. 
 
The  spouse  at  home  is  enƟtled  to  keep  at 
least  half  of  all  countable  assets, within  the 
following guidelines: 
 

MINIMUM:  at least $31,584 in 2025 
MAXIMUM:  up to $157,920 in 2025 
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Q:   If my spouse was not able to live at home anymore, would we 
have to spend all of our resources to pay for long‐term care? 

 

A:  No, the Spousal Impoverishment ProtecƟon Law provides income protecƟon.  

 

Under the Spousal  Impoverishment ProtecƟon Law, the spouse who remains at home retains 
his/her personal income. This includes Social Security, pensions, interests, dividends, etc. 
 

The spouse in the nursing home will be required to use his/her income to pay for his/her care, 
except for a personal allowance of $75 per month ($90 per month for veterans). 
 

AŌer the income has been split, if the spouse at home gets less than $2,555 every month, he/
she may keep part of the nursing home spouse’s income, giving the spouse at home at least a 
monthly income of $2,555. 
 

If the spouse at home has to pay high rent, mortgage or uƟliƟes, he/she may be able to keep 
more of the nursing home spouse’s income. 

 

INCOME GUIDELINES 

 

Medicaid  is  a  government  insurance  program  that  helps  people with  limited  incomes  and 
resources. To qualify for Medicaid help for long‐term care, the assets of  an individual must be 
at $4,000 or  less. The Department of Health and Human Services administers and manages 
eligibility for Medicaid and Economic Assistance programs through iServeNebraska.   

BETTY AND FRED 
 

BeƩy  is unable to take care of Fred at home 
anymore,  and  he  is  admiƩed  to  a  local 
nursing  home.  Due  to  the  Spousal 
Impoverishment ProtecƟon Act, BeƩy would 
not have to spend all their money before the 
state would help pay for Fred’s care. 
 
BeƩy  will  keep  all  of  her  income.  If  her 
income  is  less than $2,555 each month, she 
could keep part of Fred’s income. 
 
Checks made  out  in  Fred’s  name would  be 
considered his  and would  go  to  the nursing 
home to pay  for his care, unless a porƟon  is 
needed  for  BeƩy.  Fred may  have  $75  from 
his  income each month as his allowance  for 
personal  needs.  Fred  will  also  conƟnue  to 
pay  his  Medicare  supplement  insurance 
premium with his income. 

 

This federal law protects spouses of nursing home residents from losing 
all of their income and assets to pay for the nursing home spouse’s care.  

A couple’s assets and income will be divided according to the  
Spousal Impoverishment ProtecƟon Law. 

 

SPOUSAL IMPOVERISHMENT PROTECTION LAW (1989) 

 

MEDICAID For addiƟonal informaƟon on spousal 
impoverishment law, contact 

iServeNebraska at 855‐632‐7633 or 
online at iserve.nebraska.gov 

This informaƟon is provided for your 
guidance only.   


