
Workers’ Compensation FAQ’s 

 
1. When making a filing for Workers’ Compensation, is it “File and Use” or “Prior Approval”? 

 
A) Rates are considered “File & Use” per NE statute 44-7506 & 44-7508. 

Forms are subject to “Prior Approval” per NE statute 44-7513. 
 

2. Are there any pricing guidelines to take into consideration when making a rate filing? 
 
A) We currently allow one Loss Cost Multiplier per insurance company – we allow Loss Cost 

Multipliers between 1.00 and 1.80.  We allow rating flexibility of +/- 40% per NE Statute    
44-7509 – we do NOT recognize Scheduled Rating. 

 
3. How much notice is required for cancellation? 

 
A) When an insurer cancels a policy there is a 30 day requirement for reasons other than non-

payment of premium or failure to reimburse a deductible.  A 10 day notice is required for 
non-payment of premium and failure to reimburse a deductible.  This can be found at NE 
statute 48-144.03. 

 
4. Does Nebraska allow deductibles on workers’ compensation policies? 
 

A) Nebraska allows Medical Deductibles in the amount of $500 to $2500 per claim in 
increments of $500 and allows Large Deductibles as long as the deductible is not more than 
40% of the insured employer’s otherwise applicable annual workers’ compensation 
insurance premium at rates approved for the insurer but not less than $50,000.  The statute 
referencing this is 48-146.03.   

 
5. Where do I send a “First Report of Alleged Occupational Injury or Illness” notice? 

 
A) This needs to be filed with the Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Court by either the 

employer or insurer. 
 

6. Where do I obtain my Experience Modification Factor? 
 

A) The National Council on Compensation Insurance (NCCI) is who you should contact to get 
your experience modification factor.  They can be reached at 1-800-NCCI123. 

 
7. I cannot get workers compensation coverage in the voluntary market and need to go through 

the Assigned Risk Plan.  Who do I contact? 
 

A) Travelers is the Plan Administrator and Contract Carrier for the Nebraska Workers 
Compensation Insurance Plan.  Contact information, application instructions and additional 
Plan information can be found on the Nebraska Department of Insurance website at 
https://doi.nebraska.gov/consumer/nebraska-workers-compensation-insurance-plan.  
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